Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I have been baking for years and this was the best crust. I made two different pies and got rave reviews for both of them. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Finally a pie crust I am proud of. Excellent directions. I used this with Brown Family's Favorite Pumpkin Pie from this site and it was absolutely wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This is the best pie crust ever! I will never use another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Great pie crust. I usually use the Longaberger recipe, but decided to try this one because it's similar. The main difference is the addition of cake flour. I'm not sure if it's the cake flour or not that did it, but it was delicious, flaky and very easy to handle. Rave reviews from my family who can usually tell when I've tried a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Followed this to a T and I even put it in the fridge and freezer to try and yield the best results. I do have to say I was scared because my food processor did not combine this well at all, maybe because i was making a double batch for Grandma Opels Apple Pie but a lot stuck to the bottom and I though I over mixed it then when tasting it after it was done, it tasted a lot like the vinegar and I was dissapointed after all the work i had done. I did not lattice the top but just put in several slits and baked the pie hoping for it to be partly edible. boy oh boy, my Mother in law is one of the best pie bakers I've ever met and my husband and I both said this was the BEST pie we've ever eaten! I can't wait to make it for family! We both devoured this nightly until it was gone (4 days)! You need to try the pie recipe with this crust, I was even eating the harder edges plain, you know where they get fat and hard, i've never eaten those and I could eat a bowl of it alone! There is a delicious sauce that goes on the top of the crust in the recipe which worried me as well, I thought it would compromise the apple pie flavor but it turned out to be the best part. You must try, you won't be dissapointed and i'm pretty sure it's fool proof if I made it that great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This is one of those recipes some cooks would never be kind enough to share. Thank you!!! The top crust is extra special if you froth the left over egg white, brush it over the top crust, and sprinkle it with coarse sugar (though regular will do), right before baking. One precaution: Do not just "throw in" the ice water mixture in the last step, but start with a few tablespoons and only add enough water for the dough to stick together but not be wet. Chances are you will not use more than 5 Tablespoons. But as I said, this recipe makes a treasure of a crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J La

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Export, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This is the best pastry recipe I've ever used. I don't have a food processor; I cut the fat in by hand with a pastry cutter and it worked fine, so you don't neccesarily HAVE to use a food processor. : ) There are more steps involved in this recipe than others I've used, but it's definitley worth the effort. I'll use this recipe for all my pies in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
I ended up adding too much liquid (dough was a little sticky), but this crust STILL turned out perfectly! I will not be using any other crust recipes - this is definitely IT. I also didn't have cake flour, but did not think the crust suffered for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Great flaky crust, I used it instead of my regular crust for my meat pie. Great success!! My new recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Marsaskala, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I didn't have cake flour or vinegar, but this crust still turned out the best I've ever made. It was flaky and flavorful. Used it for three types of pies. This will be the crust I'll be using from now on. Just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROSPERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States