Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
All I have to say is that I've been searching for the "perfect" pie crust for a very long time and my search is over. This was amazing!! I made this with Apple Pie I recipe from this site and got rave reviews!! You won't be sorry you tried this one!! Thanks, Carole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Campbell Gongaware

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Mifflin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
WOW! What an AMAZING crust! I just made this for a lemon meringue pie...came out sensational! Crusts are generally fiddely, and I have to admit this was my first...but I've stuck this recipie in my cookbook for future use. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
THIS IS THE BEST PIE CRUST I HAVE EVER EATEN IT WAS NICE AND SOFT AND FLAVORFUL I USED LARD INSTEAD OF SHORTENING BECAUSE I HAD IT ON HAND AND IT WAS REALLY SOFT AND DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingkiddie1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I've tried several claimed to be best ever pie crusts and none have turn out so perfect as this one. At least based on my standard :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This pie crust was great. I'll be using it for my pies all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I tried this several weeks back and forgot to give it reviews!! It is excellent!! My new favorite !! I received many great compliments from tough food critics!! THANKS !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I've tried a bunch of pie crusts and this one is the best I've found so far. It's not nearly has heavy as a lard crust and has a lot more substance than just a shortening crust. It rolls beautifully too. I had no problems with sticking or breaking. I do not use all of the water mixture. I use just as much as I need, which changes so an exact measurement cannot be given. I do not recommend dumping all the liquid in at once, but gradually until you're sure it's moist enough. I often make the crust the night before which makes it very easy to handle I'll be using this recipe again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Every year at Thanksgiving I strive to produce the best Apple Pie with a Flaky Crust. If you haven't tried this recipe your missing out on the best tasting, the most flaky, firm yet, soft like butter, to put your fork into and then melts into this desirable urge to have more. Yes, it took a few steps more to produce this wonderful crust, but I guarantee you will not regret this recipe. I wish it was my own, I don't think I would give it to just anyone. I'm pushing 60 real quick and this was the best year of my life for compliments on my pies. Just remember, keep your dough as cool as you can, rest it in the freezer for 20 min or so. Believe me you will be the talk of the neighborhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
It was good. But WAY more trouble than it's worth. I think I mixed it a bit too much though. Maybe I should try it again and see what I think then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I am giving this recipe a 5 because it taste so good. I think some of the problems I had was due to inexperience. I had problems with it crumbling too much. If you tried to wrap it in foil it fell apart. I used butter flavored Crisco sticks because it is so much easier to measure. I used the distilled white vinegar and it didn't have a bitter wangy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calhoun, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Utica, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States