Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Was very delicious and flaky. Pie crust seems to be very delicate and finicky but this one was easy to get right, even for me! I didn't have cake flour so I just used all-purpose flour instead and I mixed with a fork since I didn't have a food processor. It was still amazing with the slight changes. I have tried other pie recipes and this one is by far the best, its a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
My crust came out absolutely delicious. Very flaky and buttery. Was not "wet" as some of the post read. I used it to make peach cobbler including the dumplings. The cobbler was was truly delicious. The only negative was when you change the servings of the recipie, the amount of liquid you add in the actual recipie does does change. I wasn't sure what the initial serving was so I had to estimate how much liquid to add. I think I used 10 tbs for a 20 serving pie as I was making a top and bottom crust and dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
My Grandmother used that recipe for many years so it became our favorite. I make a double batch and freeze it in pie size balls. You can keep it in the freezer for many months. I have had it frozen for 7 months and it baked up just as good as the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I tried to double the recipe for making a 2-crust pie. It was extremely frustrating to follow. I am a novice at baking, so maybe I did not understand how to do this right. The end result was worthless. I will not be using the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Excellent! I've never had luck with pie crusts before but this one worked out perfect! You need to follow the directions perfectly...sprinkle water, egg, vinegar mixture...don't pour. Do not over mix....It turned out wonderful...will use this again and again! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Excellent. I used this recipe with the Grandma Ople's apple pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Excellent! I was almost deterred by the long list of ingredients but it's TOTALLY WORTH IT. The fats balance nicely for the perfect combination of flaky/crispy/chewy and it isn't overly buttery tasting (or worse, like straight up shortening).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Just to add to some of the comments. Making dough will always very depending on the humidity in your home. For this reason making a pie dough in Florida is very different than making one in Arizona ;) add the liquid slowly, it should just hold together. If it's sticky through it out and start again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States