Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I've been making pies for 20 years and this is my recipe now. It is delicious. Flaky tender with crispy edges. Yum. Perfect compliment to my apple pies. Brought some to work and coworkers were making mmmm noises and telling me they were gonna lick their plates. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grrose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
My husband hates sour cream so I diverted from my mom's crust recipe to this one. I think the vinegar replaces the source cream my mom usually uses. All in all a very flavorful pie crust, but a little more work than my mom's recipe. Still, I will use this again - and my husband absolutely LOVED it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Was very delicious and flaky. Pie crust seems to be very delicate and finicky but this one was easy to get right, even for me! I didn't have cake flour so I just used all-purpose flour instead and I mixed with a fork since I didn't have a food processor. It was still amazing with the slight changes. I have tried other pie recipes and this one is by far the best, its a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
My crust came out absolutely delicious. Very flaky and buttery. Was not "wet" as some of the post read. I used it to make peach cobbler including the dumplings. The cobbler was was truly delicious. The only negative was when you change the servings of the recipie, the amount of liquid you add in the actual recipie does does change. I wasn't sure what the initial serving was so I had to estimate how much liquid to add. I think I used 10 tbs for a 20 serving pie as I was making a top and bottom crust and dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
My Grandmother used that recipe for many years so it became our favorite. I make a double batch and freeze it in pie size balls. You can keep it in the freezer for many months. I have had it frozen for 7 months and it baked up just as good as the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Hurdle
Home Town: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I tried to double the recipe for making a 2-crust pie. It was extremely frustrating to follow. I am a novice at baking, so maybe I did not understand how to do this right. The end result was worthless. I will not be using the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Menke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Excellent! I've never had luck with pie crusts before but this one worked out perfect! You need to follow the directions perfectly...sprinkle water, egg, vinegar mixture...don't pour. Do not over mix....It turned out wonderful...will use this again and again! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Excellent. I used this recipe with the Grandma Ople's apple pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States