Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I've never been very good with pie crusts, but this one is by far the very best. Like other reviewers, I was able to roll it out between plastic wrap. Therefore, it was very easy to work with. Thanks for the wonderful recipe. I will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbsteen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Freedom, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very good pie crust. It is especially good with pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
What a nice pie crust! I'm a first-time pie maker, and this still came out lovely. I did not have cake flour on hand, so I measured out 3/4 cup regular flour, took out about 3/4 tbsp of flour, and replaced it with an equal amount of cornstarch. I sifted this mixture before adding the other 3/4 cup of flour, and sifted again (I figured I might as well). I used a hand blender to mix together the butter and shortening before putting it in the freezer, which made it easier to work with when it came out. As per the recipe, I put half the fat into the food processor with the flour mixture, and then cut in the rest of the fat by hand. I was careful not to overmix, rolled it out between two sheets of wax paper (great tip), and actually I don't have a rolling pin so I used a wine bottle (it worked). I also let the dough relax in the fridge both before and after rolling out. Came out with just the right texture and a subtle flavor, goes well with either sweet or savory flavors. I think the mixture of shortening and butter really gives this a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
If you're a first time pie maker like me, make sure you cut up your butter into small slices before you add it to the flour or it won't break up right. I had to scrap my first crust because it took too much mixing when I just stuck the whole stick in (hey, I didn't know any better). And don't use all of the liquid, just enough to make the dough stick together when lightly turning it in with a fork. Delicious crust for my first pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I have made many piecrust from scratch for many, many years and I also thought this was the worst!!!! I think you meant to say to use 2 3/4 cups of flour and then 3/4 cup cake flour. The liquid ingrediants are enough for a 2 crust dough, hench it needs much more flour than just 1 and 1/4 cup, I had a bowl of mush....twice!!!! I will make my own recipe from now on but I might add the baking powder for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I just used this pie crust for my chocolate meringue pie - and it won a blue ribbon in the Tennessee State Fair! Hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I have been using this pie crust recipe (or one similar) for years and love it! I feel like it has lots of flavor and really enhances whatever pie filling you use it with. My one bit of advice (I use a pastry blender, not a food processor) is to make sure that your "chunks" of dough aren't too large prior to adding liquid. If they are I feel that it is sticky and ugly when rolled out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali McCance

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This recipe did not work for me. I've made tons of pie crusts in my life, but this was without doubt the worst. I wrestled with it for a while, but it kept ripping and sticking, even after chilling it and rolling it out on a cold marble slab! I finally made my regular crust instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I am 62 years old & have been trying to make a decent pie crust for half my life....this one is the only one you will need,trust me. I use it to make meat pies too..I add some dried herbs to the dry ingredients when making these meat pies....adds a little pizazz. Buy yourself some of those little aluminum pie tins & make mini pies.....cut out a heart of dough & place on top...bake pie as usual. Give to someone & tell them you made the pie with love just for them!! People feel special when they get their own little pie....this piecrust will make all the difference to whatever filling you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I have used this recipe 5 times the only thing i add is 2 tsp. of vanilla extract. I would not use any other pie crust for this type of crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States