Baker's Clay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
My grandmother used to do up this recipe for all the grandchildren. We loved decorating them and hanging them on the Christmas tree. She baked them at 200 degrees for about 2 hours, checking them every half hour to make sure they weren't turning brown. To not get puffy ones, she set another cookie sheet on top of the ornaments before baking. Be sure and use parchment between cookie sheet and ornaments. It keeps them flat and they turn out very well. What a wonderful memory. This year I'm making them with my grandchildren and great-grandchildren!! Oh, and make sure you knead it very well, adding a little more water if needed. The kneading helps to keep it from cracking while baking. Have fun!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I used to make this for my kids when they were little. My granddaughter and I are going to mix this up today...it's funny to see the reviews claiming they were too sweet! LOL it's clay not a cookie to eat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
really fun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
To avoid the dough getting poofy when baked, poke some small holes over the top of the craft you are making. The holes do not have to be deep. I made hand prints with my two boys for Mothers day presents for their Grandmas and they loved it! I made sure to poke around the outside and inside of the prints and after baking you couldn't even tell I had done so, and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipe has the exact same ingredients as the "Dough Ornament Recipe" and "Ornament Dough" recipes. My suggestions: Note that 5 cups of dough is a lot! I halved the recipe and still had a lot more than I needed. You might as well make a small amount, it is easy to mix up more later if you want. Keep the dough in a bowl covered with a damp dishtowel when you are not working with it. You might find adding a small amount of additional water to the piece you are working with helping. The longer you knead the dough, the better. I tried making 3-D bird ornaments but they ended up cracking as the outside dries long before the inside can. I made flat ones as well and that seems the only way to go. I cooked them at 200 * F (it took several hours) and avoided puffing problems. I submitted photos of my finished product, see additional comments on the one of the birds hanging in the tree. One last thing-- these are fragile! I broke off two of the tails-- but superglue works to put them back together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
My kids loved decorating these for the christmas tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Definately fun for the family, a great idea! My 2-yr old loved it and now we have ornaments to give as gifts...we pressed her hand into a circle of dough, poked a hole in the top, and put a ribbon in. The only problem is...I think they need some kind of varnish or something, because 4 out of the 6 that we made are cracked down the middle. Also, I read another recipe which said to knead the dough before you work with it, and I think that might be a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I made this recipe while teaching a class of young chefs (5-11 yr olds). It was very easy and the consistency turned out excellent for playing with. At home my daughters did bake their own creations at 200 deg. for about 2 hours. Afterward we painted them and hung them for decoration. This was a great recipe for the class because the kids were able to prepare it, play with it, and then bake it at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acookingmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Yum! Everyone said these were the best sugar cookies they ever tasted! A little too sweet for my taste though..however, I will never make sugar cookies another way again! Thanks! PS you should give it a more appealing name..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I am so glad to find this recipe my mom has always made this for me as a child its so nice to have it now for my kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States