Baked Zucchini Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
The first time I made these, I followed the directions exactly and the zucchini chips weren't terrible, but seemed to be lacking something. The next time, I doubled the parmesan and added garlic powder and basil. I also experimented with the thickness of the slices, finding that thinner was crispier. I'm glad I gave these a second shot becasue they turned out much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
747 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I truely can't rave enough about how delicious, easy, and healthy these were!!! I was a little concerned that this was going to be labor intensive but it only took about 10 minutes to prepare. I just sliced the zucchini in rounds, and then I dunked them in Egg Beaters to save on calories and for the convenience, and then dunked them in the bread crumb mixture. I used seasoned bread crumbs and added extra garlic powder since my family are garlic lovers. And just popped them on a cookie sheet sprayed with a little Pam! After 7 minutes in the oven, I flipped them around with a spatula. Just as a side note, you don't have to be careful flipping them around, they stay together pretty well. Then put them back in the oven for another 10 minutes. I served them with both marinara and ranch dressing on the side. I made 2 full cookie sheets worth of these and they were scarfed down SO quickly!! I had men that are not at all health concsious raving about them and their wives begging for the recipe. I am really making an effort to lose weight, I'm down 20 pounds, and recipes like this that are delicious and not obviously "health food", make entertaining and hosting really fun for me again. These really do need to be served right out of the oven, I think you could prep them ahead of time to the point of the cookie sheet and then pop them in the oven when company came over. Thank you for the excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
450 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Thanks to the reviews of others, this recipe was a hit in our house. I added garlic and onion powder, Italian seasoning, red pepper flakes and parm. cheese to the dry ingred. I added LA Gold (hot sauce) to the egg mixture. Before cooking, I did spray the zucchini chips with cooking spray - and again when I tuned them over. I upped the oven temp. to 500 degrees after flipping the chips - and cooked them for an additional 6 minutes total on second side. They did get brown, crispy and delicious. With these additions, the recipe is wonderful - even for those who aren't zucchini lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I'd actually rate this a 4.5: 4 from me, 5 from my husband. My husband LOVES these. These are the only food I've ever prepared (and I try tons of new recipes) that he has ever specifically asked me to make again. I doctored the seasonings (added garlic salt, cayenne pepper, italian seasoning, while using seasoned breadcrumbs) and i actually didn't care for them. They are in the oven now (after many many pleas) made according to the recipe, so maybe I'll like them more this time. I did use the suggestion to spray w/Pam before cooking and after flipping and they did turn out pretty crsipy for oven-baked. Thanks for my husbands new favorite recipe! EDIT: I now LOVE these and make them all the time w/no extra seasonings. I use panko and/or seasoned bread crumbs, depending on what i have on hand and I never measure anymore, just dump and go. I also don't flip (I'm lazy ;) ) mid baking and they're still nice and crisp. Solid 5 at the LTH house and a staple side for grilled burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A cook in Houston
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
These were great. Quick, easy and low calorie. I also add garlic powder to breadcrumbs. To make them crispy spray tops with cooking spray before putting in the oven. After you turn them over spray the tops again. They will be crispy on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Used a whole egg to coat. Added freshly grated parm cheese to bread crumbs as well as a little salt, onion powder, and garlic powder. I after dipping the zucc's...I dipped and breaded again. Set in the fridge for an hour to set the breading and then baked (on a pizza stone). A very good alternative to fries. Good flavor if you want to kick up those diet taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Love fried zucchini, but hate the mess. Plus I always eat too much and regret it later. This is a great alternative. Easy, no mess and much healthier. No queasy tummy later either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Used Japanese bread crumbs(Panko) and added seasoning salt. I cooked with a convection oven to get them a little more crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
i added garlic salt, garlic powder, onion powder, and used seasoned breadcrumbs (garlic and herb). i also drizzled the pan with a little melted butter since i was out of cooking spray (oops). i was disappointed that they weren't browned after 10 minutes, but then i remembered to flip them. a few minutes later they were done. still not as crispy as fried zucchini, but they tasted awesome and everyone had seconds. i suggest double breading next time to make them more crispy (egg, breadcrumbs, egg, more breadcrumbs). also...to coat everything faster i dump 5-6 zucchini in the bowl of egg whites, stir them vigorously to coat, then throw them one by one into the bowl of breadcrumbs and spices. i just shake the bowl until they're all covered. that way you don't have to do them one by one. using extra parmesan cheese helps with the crispiness factor too (will try next time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I just made this recipe the other night. I was so good. I did add basil and garlic salt to the bread crumbs. I also cooked them on a pizza stone, which made them crispy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States