Baked Ziti with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Great flavor! But you will deff need more cheese than this calls for and sauce because i almost had to use 2 cans! But i will make again for a big crowd
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This came out great. My mother in law asked me for the recipe after. What I changed. I added a block of fresh spinach to it, precooked it in the microwave, drained it and added it to the cheese mixture. Also I added 1 1/2 tablespoons of red pepper flakes for a kick and a 1/4 cup of low fat sour cream for more creaminess as well as used low fat ricotta and whole wheat rigatoni. No one noticed THAT IT WAS A HEALTHIER VERSION. YUM! If you are having a dinner party and want to spend more time socializing than cooking, pre-make this a few hours before, leave it on the stove top and pop it in when you are ready, :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yonitparenti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I made this recipe exactly to specifications, except i used a little more sauce - my jar was bigger and I shredded my own mozzarella. It was very good, and not dry like the last time I made ziti. I do have to say that I bakes it at 350 for 25 minutes, and then another 10 without the foil and my onions were still very crunchy. Sautee the onions first, and maybe not use a whole onion. Otherwise, really good. I used the Bertolli Tomato and Basil sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I didn't like the ricotta mixed in with everything. Think I would prefer it as a layer. I even used whole milk ricotta and I still found the final product gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made this for friends and it was a huge hit. I also cooked the onion and garlic with the sausage, added some red pepper flakes and some diced tomatoes. I think it would have been a bit bland without these additions. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLOWERDANNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is a good recipe. This is now my go to when I don't know what else to make for dinner. Easy to make in large quantities. I use hot turkey sausage and I saute the onions and minced garlic with the sausage. I also add fresh mushrooms and spinach to the sausage mixture to get some veggies in my diet. I add more of the spices than called for, and I don't use salt. I also use 2 jars of sauce because I don't like dry pasta. I also top it off with a little fresh mozzarella, extra italian seasoning and then I broil for the last 2 mins or so to make the cheese nice and bubbly. Serve with a nice green salad or green vegetables and you have yourself a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This ziti is delicious! I use spicy italian sausage, extra mozzarella cheese, fresh basil and Rao's Marinara Sauce. I also put a can of diced tomatoes in my riccotta cheese mixture to keep it from drying out. I read that in one of the other reviews and it did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Daughter-in-law made this over the weekend. VERY GOOD! I do agree with other reviewers that maybe next time we will saute the onion before adding it to the rest of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
The best Baked Ziti recipe I've tried! Only thing I did differently was sautee the onion and garlic in the pan with the sausage after it was cooked. I also added a can of diced tomatoes w/ the meat meat mixture. I just like chunks of tomatoes, and I was afraid it may be too dry. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States