Baked Ziti with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lina352
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This tasted amazing! Instead of a jar of pasta sauce I used homemade marinara that I stewed all day in the crock pot and added Italian flavored ground turkey. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina352

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I was running late bringing this to my boyfriend's work so I just skipped the layering and mixed it all together evenly before baking. It turned out great! I also added some crushed red pepper for spice, and everyone loved the dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Not much flavor. I would use less pasta or more meat to make it more of a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This is a good and filling dish, but for our taste could use just a little more seasoning. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was delicious! Made a lot of food that will be great leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Positively Angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This was really good. The bake time needs adjustment considering the amount this makes. I followed it almost perfectly, only difference is I used sweet Italian sausage. Poached and then browned in a frying pan, I added minced garlic while browning the sausage, cut into cubes and mixed with part of the sauce and ricotta. I used mozzarella and sharp cheddar (both shredded) because that's what I had on hand. It was really good, needed more garlic for my taste and I omitted the onion and used a generous amount of onion powder throughout each stage. I served it with cheesy bread and a small side salad. Definitely one of my favorites. Next time I'll add a little more sauce and ricotta mixture. Oh and I added about 1/2 cup of cheese extra. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
My family LOVES this recipe. However, for a quick alternative, we use frozen meatballs (Italian or turkey) in lieu of the sausage (my husband not a fan of sausage) and add extra cheese (both ricotta and mozzarella). Just heat up the meatballs so you can cut through them and add to the recipe. I have made this countless times and it is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This recipe was simple and delicious. As some of the other reviewers have stated, cooking the onion slightly before mixing it in would create a better balance of flavors. I love onion, but it was a little too much with the more mild tomato flavor. Excellent dish though! I definitely plan on making this again. It's also nice that the ingredients aren't too expensive. And leftovers will last for the next few days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Had just the right amount of spice. I skipped the fennel though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I usually add mushrooms and spinach to the sausage. I also cook the onion and seasonings with the sausage mixture. I use whole wheat pasta and fat free ricotta. I don't always layer it either, I just mix it all together and top with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States