Baked Ziti with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is a good recipe. This is now my go to when I don't know what else to make for dinner. Easy to make in large quantities. I use hot turkey sausage and I saute the onions and minced garlic with the sausage. I also add fresh mushrooms and spinach to the sausage mixture to get some veggies in my diet. I add more of the spices than called for, and I don't use salt. I also use 2 jars of sauce because I don't like dry pasta. I also top it off with a little fresh mozzarella, extra italian seasoning and then I broil for the last 2 mins or so to make the cheese nice and bubbly. Serve with a nice green salad or green vegetables and you have yourself a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This ziti is delicious! I use spicy italian sausage, extra mozzarella cheese, fresh basil and Rao's Marinara Sauce. I also put a can of diced tomatoes in my riccotta cheese mixture to keep it from drying out. I read that in one of the other reviews and it did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Daughter-in-law made this over the weekend. VERY GOOD! I do agree with other reviewers that maybe next time we will saute the onion before adding it to the rest of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
The best Baked Ziti recipe I've tried! Only thing I did differently was sautee the onion and garlic in the pan with the sausage after it was cooked. I also added a can of diced tomatoes w/ the meat meat mixture. I just like chunks of tomatoes, and I was afraid it may be too dry. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Thought this was a great recipe. Followed it almost exactly except I sauteed the onions with the sausage as other reviewers suggested. I divided it into 2 batches and baked one now and froze the other. Will definitely make this again. Next time I will use a bit more sauce though. It wasn't dry at all, but I prefer more sauce in my pasta casseroles. UPDATE: I just now got around to eating the second batch that I made up and froze (it's been about 3 months). I froze it before baking, being careful to wrap it in wax paper first, then foil and put the whole thing in a big ziplock bag to protect from freezer burn. I put the entire frozen casserole in the oven and baked according to the recipe, but added about an extra 15 minutes. It came out just perfect, except I wish I had added more sauce, which was my same complaint with the first batch. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
better the next day. double the cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Very good ziti recipe. Not the least bit dry, and I only had 1 jar of sauce on hand and just made it work. I also only had a white onion. I sauteed it in the pan that I cooked the sausage in (after the sausage was done and set aside to drain). I think that added a little more flavor, but otherwise I followed the recipe as written. Great job, Ashley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kathy
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is just amazing. I did it exactly how the recipe says. Just amazing. I've done it about 6 time already
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Easy! Awesome! Family winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States