Baked Ziti with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was delicious! Made a lot of food that will be great leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Positively Angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This was really good. The bake time needs adjustment considering the amount this makes. I followed it almost perfectly, only difference is I used sweet Italian sausage. Poached and then browned in a frying pan, I added minced garlic while browning the sausage, cut into cubes and mixed with part of the sauce and ricotta. I used mozzarella and sharp cheddar (both shredded) because that's what I had on hand. It was really good, needed more garlic for my taste and I omitted the onion and used a generous amount of onion powder throughout each stage. I served it with cheesy bread and a small side salad. Definitely one of my favorites. Next time I'll add a little more sauce and ricotta mixture. Oh and I added about 1/2 cup of cheese extra. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
My family LOVES this recipe. However, for a quick alternative, we use frozen meatballs (Italian or turkey) in lieu of the sausage (my husband not a fan of sausage) and add extra cheese (both ricotta and mozzarella). Just heat up the meatballs so you can cut through them and add to the recipe. I have made this countless times and it is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This recipe was simple and delicious. As some of the other reviewers have stated, cooking the onion slightly before mixing it in would create a better balance of flavors. I love onion, but it was a little too much with the more mild tomato flavor. Excellent dish though! I definitely plan on making this again. It's also nice that the ingredients aren't too expensive. And leftovers will last for the next few days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Had just the right amount of spice. I skipped the fennel though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I usually add mushrooms and spinach to the sausage. I also cook the onion and seasonings with the sausage mixture. I use whole wheat pasta and fat free ricotta. I don't always layer it either, I just mix it all together and top with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is one of the tastier baked ziti dishes I've tried. Great flavor and not dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I will be making this probably every weekend. I loved it, my mom loved it, my sister loved it, my brother lovveeed it, my aunt loved it. & My family are the pickiest! My gosh! I have none left for tomorrow. If you come across this recipe, try it, as you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I made this for a Small XMAS family gathering and everyone loved it. We had 12 people and the original recipe said makes 8 servings so I doubled it. We went thru the first dish and a partial of the second. We all had left overs for the next day. I used ground beef in place of sausage and it worked well. I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gooseguy44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Loved it. Only thing I did was add some garlic and herb Mrs Dash seasoning to the ricotta cheese mix. My picky sons loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States