Baked Ziti with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I made the full recipe as is, but used low-fat cheese and whole wheat pasta. I do not believe this had any negative impact on taste. I opted to split it into (2) 8x8 pans as it really makes a large portion. One of which I baked & served that evening, and the other I assembled & then threw in my freezer for another night. In each pan, I had room for a layer of sauce, a layer of the pasta mixture, another layer of sauce, and topped it with cheese. But as a side note, I did not add cheese to the one I froze. When I was ready to finally bake the frozen pan, I let it thaw overnight in my fridge. I threw it in my preheated oven (375 F) and cooked for approx 45 min (wrapped in tin foil). I added the cheeses, and let it cook for another 15 minutes. Good taste, easy to make (and freeze for later!), and the sausage adds substance. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I made this recipe to feed a hungry group during a ski weekend and it was amazing! Both the picky adults and the pickier children loved it. I increased the amount of sausage slightly and used italian style turkey sausage. I prepared the recipe up through step 5 and then put the tray in the fridge all day. When we got home that night, I increased the oven temp to 375 and cooked it covered for 45 minutes and uncovered for 15. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Everytime I've eaten baked ziti it's always been dry and flavourless, but this recipie is EXCELLENT! I love it!! I followed the recipe the same other than cooking the onions and garlic with the sausage since I don't like raw onions. The noodles stayed nice and soft and were sooo creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pandafeathers

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Very good basic recipe. I made modifications to suit my family's tastes. I used ground chuck vs sausage (family does not care for it) and sauteed the onion and garlic with it. Used a can of diced tomatoes to mix into the ricotta cheese, egg, etc. Because it can be a little bland, used allot more spices in the mixture, such as Italian Seasoning, parsley flakes, garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, chili powder and cumin powder. Used 40 oz of Prego spaghetti sauce to keep it from drying out.I also used 16 oz of Italian shredded cheese (8 oz per layer). I sprayed the aluminum foil with Olive Oil Pam before covering (to keep the cheese from sticking) and baked it at 375 degrees for 45 minutes, then uncovered and baked an additional 20 minutes. I let it stand for another 15 minutes while my garlic bread was baking to let it set up. This was delicious!!! My son was over for dinner and wanted to take the leftovers home (a first!) but I wouldn't let him. Instead, I gave him this recipe (with my modifications, of course, lol). I've made other baked ziti recipes, but this was the best by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I make a similar recipe, minus the ricotta. I use hot Italian sausage instead of the mild for a little kick. This is an excellent dish for a busy day, easy to put together and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This recipe and it's contents is wonderful. A bit more Italian Sausage is needed for our taste. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Very Good. I added a 1/2 lb of ground beef and mushrooms to the mixture. I also mixed mozzarella cheese in the layers and topped it off with parmesan cheese. This was very good and enjoyed by my family. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This recipe was delicious! My husband had a few friends over when I made this and I barely had any leftovers! I will definitely make this again - recipe needs no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMF0519

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Moorpark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
GREAT MEAL WITH GARLIC BREAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I MADE THIS DISH FOR MY FAMILY LAST WEEK... THEY LOVED IT.... IT IS FANTASTIC....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Niles, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States