Baked Ziti with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
The whole family absolutely loved this! It was perfectly cheesy and creamy. I used the Roasted Garlic Marinara by Barilla and OMG- that sauce is fantastic! I definitely found my go to store bought sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by jennbo
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
We all cried with delight at this dish. I thought it might be dull. But it was amazing. We stuffed ourselves! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennbo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I really liked this recipe, especially since the mozzarella was interspersed throughout the dish instead of all being on top. It was easy to make and heated up beautifully for leftovers. Hubby wasn't too impressed, but the kids and I really liked it (and they usually only want chicken nuggets.) An excellent meal alongside a salad and garlic bread. Five stats yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This was so fast to make! I did not heat the milk separately. Simply melted the butter added the flour, whisked it to make a roux, and slowly add the milk while continuing to whisk the mixture. Buffalo mozzarella is easy to find, one brand is made by Galbani it won't specifically say buffalo mozzarella but it's the same thing. I followed the recipe the rest of the way except I used Panko breadcrumbs... Fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This is a great comfort dish. I love cheese so I sprinkled some on top of the breadcrumbs, making it extra cheesy. Everything about this dish is tasty - I have no complaints and I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
As others have stated, this dish is labor intensive. In my opinion, the final outcome wasn't worth all the work, as we thought this meal was just okay. My husband stated that he wished it had meat in it. I did like the flavor combo of the bechamel and red sauces - but because this took so many pans on the stove at the same time, plus the baking dish, I don't think this is something that will make it into our dinner rotation very often. The only change I made was to cover the top in additional cheese layer with the bread crumbs to entice the kids to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was just OK for my gang. My 14yo daughter made this by herself and it was certainly easy enough and uncomplicated. She boiled the pasta then placed it in a baking dish. Using the same pot from the pasta she made the Bechamel sauce in it. Rather than dirty another pot she heated the milk in the measuring cup in the microwave. She did add garlic and some pesto she found in the fridge to bump up the flavor along with crushed red pepper. The pasta baked very nicely and was cheesy but the main thought from everyone was they did not like the "jarred sauce essence" and were left wishing it had some ricotta mixed in. No one left the table hungry but we won't likely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I'm a fan of baked ziti and often find recipes that use all red sauce or all bechamel. This recipe uses a combination of both which I love. Don't skip the bread crumbs on top, it finishes this dish off with tasty perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I'm giving this four stars due to the fact that it really does dirty up a lot of dishes! I made a lot of changes but I DID keep the original intent intact so we'll go with that. I used shell pasta (my favorite shape and the only thing in the cabinet) and added some portobello mushrooms. I didn't have any pasta sauce so I used a can of fire-roasted tomatoes. Added garlic, onion, and fresh basil. I also used a combination of goat cheese and fontina. My husband actually said, "This is pretty good!" and got seconds. If I could at least save myself the trouble of the béchamel sauce for the dirty pan, that would be amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by KZrod
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Made this for my Florida family while on vaca not only did we have a blast cooking it together we all loved it!! I Added pepper to the béchamel, used freshly grated nutmeg & used 2-8oz reg balls of fresh mozzarella I will def be making this again!!!! #allstarsbarilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KZrod
Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Veggie Elbows Mac and Cheese

An easy veggie pasta tossed with okra and a creamy, three-cheese sauce.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States