Baked Ziti III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Great recipe. I took the advice of another and tossed the ziti with the sour cream before layering. I will NEVER skip this step. The noodles stayed creamy and delicious. I browned ground pork, used left over ground beef, garlic and onion. I didn't have provolone so topped every layer with parmesan. I didn't need 2 jars of sauce as others said they did. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
414 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I wish I could rate this 10star!!! I made this exactly per the recipe, only change I made was extra cheese, my family loves italian cheeses, other that I did it exactly. I made this on friday night, and we have eaten 6 meals from this one dish! And it tastes better and better every time. My only recommendation is to use a 3 or maybe even 4 quart dish, for I used a 3 qt and it very nearly overflowed the dish, maybe cause of all the extra cheese I used! I will make this a regular menu item in my home, it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Aside from a fabulous recipe, this was SO fast. My boyfriend raved about it and so did I. Made a nice 9x13 FULL of ziti. Great for a family style meal with several guests or a pot luck. Some tips: As suggested by other reviews I seasoned the ground beef with italian seasoning and added minced garlic. To give this recipe a real italian flare, I bought spaghetti sauce with italian sausage already inside so I didnt have to buy and cook sausage too. It turned out just right.. not too overpowering. I also added a small amount of the sauce to cover the first layer of ziti as suggested by another review and it came out perfect.. I think it might have been too dry on the bottom otherwise. A large skillet was too small for all of the spaghetti sauce. I had to transfer it to a large pot. An electric skillet might be big enough.. This recipe fills a 9x13 to the brim so make sure you dont use anything smaller. I also baked this uncovered on the center rack with no isses and the cheese came out nice and golden brown. Definitely will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I read the reviews and decided to be a little creative. I mixed the ziti with sour cream, ricotta, 1 egg, and 1 jar of the spaghetti sauce. I used Italian sausage and browned it with onion and garlic. I drained the fat off and added the remaining jar of spaghetti sauce. I sprayed a deep baking pan with olive oil spray and then added a layer of ziti, sausage mixture, shredded mozzarella cheese, sliced provolone topped off with sliced pepperoni. I repeated the layers, except for the pepperoni, and topped it off with the parmesan and the fresh basil. I also made an extra pan of this for a friend. Everyone raved about how good it was! I was surprised when my pasta hating son had two helpings! I am giving this 5 stars because it is an excellent base recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was great as it was written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This is for kathyj2008. I totally agree with you. My pet peeve is people that rate it high or low and then follow up with so many changes that it is nothing like the original. I like to hear what they did or did not like because that helps me evaluate it considering my tastes. I thought this was an all around good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I have been making this recipe for several years and it is excellent. Have given the recipe out many times. Sour cream is MUCH less expensive than riccotta cheese, and many guests do not believe that there isnt riccotta in this ziti. The only things I do different is that I use an 8oz package of each of the cheese and I assemble differently. While the pasta is cooking, I brown the beef and onion, drain and mix the 2 jars of sauce with the meat...simmer until pasta is all done. After draining the pasta, I mix it with the meat/sauce. Time to layer...half meat/sauce/pasta, layer all the provolone, spread a container of sour cream, then rest of meat/sauce/pasta, all the mozz cheese, and a sprinkle of parm cheese. Bake about 30-45 minutes until hot. NEVER dry and just amazing in taste. My old family ziti recipe has gone out the window!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
Fantastic recipe! Made so much that I split it into two batches, freezing one (before baking) and baking the other. I needed to use a little more cheese than called for because of this, but only about a cup more. First one was absolutely delicious & we just made the frozen one last night. I thawed it in the refrigerator overnight and baked as directed. Just as good as the first time! I'll be making this a lot for families in our squadron as they have babies or move in/out. Thanks Susan for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This was so good! I was going to make Baked Ziti I, but decided on this one due to the fresh basil (I love it! And I have my own basil plant). I used a pound of whole wheat penne instead of ziti. I used 93% lean ground beef, a red onion, and organic pasta, pasta sauce, and sour cream. I used shredded mozzarella and a 16 oz. container of sour cream. I made one big deep dish(probably about 11x4 or something) and one foil 8x8 pan to freeze for later. I loved the fresh basil on top, and added some fresh oregano too, because I just bought an oregano plant yesterday! My hubby and I loved this, and so did our one-year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I used 1/2 pound of beef and 1/2 pound ground italian sausage, this dish was an instant hit. I've already made it twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 769) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States