Baked Ziti III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This meal was amazing! I didn't use the onion and sour cream. Also, I added the parmesan cheese after the dish was finished baking. I used the Clasico Traditional Sweet Basil sauce so I didn't need to add basil. The Clasico mushroom and olive sauce is great for this dish as well. 1 pound of ground beef will NOT be enough. I used two pounds of ground beef and 2.5 jars of sauce. Love this dish and so did my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This is good, and even if you don't have Provolone cheese on hand it comes out tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMLIZARD
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This is the second time I've made this. I stuck pretty close to the recipe, only adding 12 oz of cottage cheese and about a half cup of grated Parmesan to the sour cream. Added about 1/2 tsp cayenne to the spaghetti sauce for a little bite. I used a 15" X 10" shallow roasting pan and it filled it nicely with a little space to spare at the top. It is soooooo good! MY stomach is saying , "No more" and my taste buds are arguing!!! LOL I had never seen a recipe for ziti calling for sour cream but it does definitely add something. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMLIZARD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Excellent flavor--almost worth the high calories. Use slightly less cheese, homemade marinara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Since I'm cooking for one, I cut the recipe in half, and had enough for 4 meals. I did toss the ziti with the sour cream as someone else suggested. I skipped the onion and added some fresh mushrooms. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I added hot Italian Sausage to the dish. I also mixed the sour cream with the tomato sauce, and then layered the cheese in the casserole dish. I used the Sargento 6 Italian Cheese blend which worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is my go to recipe every year, as I am begged to make ziti every year for our Potluck Christmas party at work. Making it in a crockpot assures you won't have too much to fit in the pan, but you also won't get the perfect baked texture and you'll need to adjust your sauce to your desired dryness level. I tried this last year, and while enjoyed by all, I felt just the sour cream made it too twangy and I had tons left over. This year I made my sauce separate and let it stew awhile adding in spices/flavoring to my liking rather than just opening two generic cans of sauce. The sour cream is a nice touch but I used only just enough to "butter" my noodles with after boiling. I also felt ziti desparately needs ricotta so I replaced the sour cream in the middle with ricotta. A mixture of beef and italian sausage gives a more authentic flavor of ziti as well. There were 11 people total at our Christmas party this year and I barely had a serving to take home with me. Nevertheless, as written, the recipe is still very good and will get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Basically I followed the recipe (except I chose different cheeses in a greater quantity) and I agree with the other reviews ... toss the ziti around in the sour cream before layering. Awesome meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I wasn't a fan of this dish. It was too dry and too sweet. I think if I make it again I will add more cheese, and use a homemade sauce instead of a jar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Prissz
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I agree with the other reviewer that said to mix the sour cream with the pasta to keep it from drying out. I thought it needed some salt, but the kids and husband disagreed with me, so there you go… LOL. I was also too lazy to cut and sauté the onion so I used an envelope of Lipton onion soup mix. I have made it exactly as written before and it's a FIVE star recipe. I've also added cottage cheese before when I had extra that was getting kind of… old. I've also made it with elbow macaroni before. It's a very versatile dish. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States