Baked Ziti II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This recipe is nearly identical to my italian mother and grandmother's recipe. We use a full 32 oz container of ricotta, mixed with two eggs and italian seasonings, and only 12 oz of mozzarella. We also layer - starting with sauce in the bottom of the pan, then pasta, then ricotta/egg mixture, then mozzarella, repeat. Top with parmesan or romano cheese. Oh, and it's better the next day. Definitely a make-ahead possibility.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1018 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Good, comfort food. Agree w/other reviewers to reduce ricotta cheese to 15 oz. Also modified slighly so casserole's layers are a bit more distinct, vs all mixed together, per the following: Don't cook ziti the full time. Instead, only cook 1/2 the required time. The ziti will finish cooking in the oven. In the meantime, first beat the egg, then mix egg w/the ricotta & 1/3 of the amt. of the cheeses. Add 1/3 cup fresh minced parsley & 1/8 tsp pepper, 1/2 tsp salt to ricotta mixture. Drain half cooked ziti,then combine w/ricotta. Fill casserole dish by beginning w/a layer of sauce, then a layer of ziti/ricotta, some sauce, then some cheese, repeat, ending w/a bit of cheese on top. I have also combined a bit of extra parmesan w/3/4 cup breadcrumbs, then placed this as the final layer. It adds a bit of nice texture to the final casserole. Rather than make a very saucy casserole, I serve extra sauce on the side, for those who want more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
747 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. I am hooked to the baked ziti at a local Italian restaraunt, but this is even better. If you love baked ziti, this is the best. Some people have suggested using sour cream, but you have to have ricotta cheese to make baked ziti!!! Some people have also said that there is too much cheese. But baked ziti is part cheese!!! You have to like cheese to enjoy it. Try this recipe it is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
432 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
This was very easy and good. The entire family enjoyed it. I added 1 pound of browned ground beef and followed others suggestions of layering: sauce, pasta, ricotta/egg/mozzerella mixture and repeat topping with sauce and parmesan cheese. I had cooked Baked Ziti I from this site, but everyone liked this one better. Thanks Nancy for the recipe and thank you reviewers for your suggestions. PS: I fixed this again without layering. It tasted the same, just isn't as "pretty". I did have to use a BIG bowl to mix the ingredients in, I mean BIG:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
VERY TASTY. I WOULD DO LESS RICOTTA, ADD BROWNED HAMBURGER WITH GARLIC. I WOULD NOT MIX THE SPAGHETTI SAUCE WITH THE RICOTTA MIXTURE. I DOUBLED THE MOZZERELLA. I WOULD DO A LAYERING OF THE RICOTTA/ZITI MIXTURE AND THEN SPAGHETTI SAUCE, AND TOP WITH SAUCE AND MOZZERELLA. TASTED GREAT, SERVED WITH GARLIC BREAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN_AT_HEART

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I LOVE this recipe! It makes wonderful leftovers too. I make this on Sunday nights and have leftovers for lunch all week! I've made this dish for years with a few adjustments, because it does have too much cheese. I only use 15 ounces of ricotta. Instead of mixing 1 pound of mozzarella with the noodles, I only mix about 2 handfuls. Just enough to see it melt, but not overpowering. Then I sprinkle the remaining mozzarella on top of the spaghetti sauce before putting it in the oven. This way I can monitor how much cheese I've got. Try these adjustments and I bet you'll give this 5 stars! (By the way, you can always add meat, mushrooms, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paynes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was amazing! I added 1/2 lb. ground italian sausage which I cooked with some garlic. I used the 15 oz. size ricotta and mixed it into the cooked pasta along with about half the cheese and egg but not the spaghetti sauce. Instead I layered the ingredients like this: a layer of sauce in the bottom of a lasagna pan, a layer of the pasta/cheese mixture, more sauce, italian sausage, mozzarella, repeat. I made the dish ahead and kept in the fridge till ready to cook. I seasoned both the pasta mixture and the top of the dish with some italian herb seasoning. It was beautiful and a great addition to a dinner buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Very versatile recipe. For those who think it's too bland, use a different kind of spaghetti sauce (I love the Bertolli brand basil) or add some spices of your own. Super easy to add ground beef, grilled chicken, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
quick & easy. added some shredded rotassirie chicken & frozen spinach for a satisfying pasta meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This is good made just as the recipe lays out. I can see the versitility of this to adapt to make it a meat recipe, but you could just add some vegetables, too. To those that talk about layering. Just make lasagna, willya? The beauty of baked ziti is you just mix it and cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 639) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Garden Ratatouille

See how to make cheesy baked chicken ratatouille with fresh garden herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States