Baked Ziti I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is so amazing! We all love it! There's not a lot going on here so we always use a sauce we love--Cascone's. It may be a local brand. Anyway, I may season the ground beef a bit next time but as written, this is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This recipe is the entire reason I started eating canned spaghetti sauce. I was the type of person who would make spaghetti for my family but then I would eat something else. I was just never a fan. Until this recipe. Made exactly as is it is absolutely amazing! I am now a fan of spaghetti sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Sellner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I omitted the sour cream and provolone (did not have any) instead added Ricotta and 2 eggs everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Loved the recipe. Added Worcestershire sauce , brown sugar and crushed red pepper to the spaghetti sauce. Next time will reduce the sour cream and cheese by half. Sweetie thought ricotta would be better. We will try it and see! Thanks it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This recipe was super easy and delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
It is a good recipe but I omitted so much, it would not be fair to give five stars the actual recipe. I took out the provolone cheese and sour cream and I only had a pinch of Parmesan cheese. I used three cheese blend from Wholefoods instead. The entire family enjoyed greatly, even my 18 month daughter asked for thirds! Oh! And we will have leftovers, which is rear for this family of 8!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
As I was saying in other review. Your afforded the luxury of tweaking recipes like this one to meet your or your families palate. As example I used 1/4 c brown sugar as many have suggested and combined with ketchup and Uncle Bobs for a glaze in top. I would mince the onions fine or run quickly thru food processor next time. Onion must be small. I added some garlic. It's a great solid recipe as is and you can change little things to your liking. Keep all the basics the same first time then add as needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I made this dish recently for a small dinner party I hosted. I followed other suggestions about layering and using a bigger pan. My dinner party guests really liked it, and were going back for seconds and third helpings! However, I blundered a bit so I'm sharing my experience so others won't make the same goofs! I made it the day before, and cooked it for 15 minutes then put it in the fridge. I figured I could stick it in the oven with another dish I was making the day of the party, and finish cooking it. I didn't want to fully cook the dish the day before, then re-heat it because I thought it might dry it out. So day of the party I cooked it for another 30 minutes at 350 degrees, but it wasn't long enough! The layer of provolone never melted, which wasn't apparent until I was serving the dish and I was digging into my own portion. I don't know if anyone even noticed, but I was a little embarrassed! So, if I were to do it again, I'd probably either cook it completely the day before then reheat it, or just leave it in the oven for about 45 minutes the day of the shindig if I didn't cook it fully the day before. I'd also use a different spaghetti sauce. (For the record, I used sauce from Trader Joe's and I didn't care for it. One of my guests mentioned it seemed too acidic.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginluk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Good, but dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I only have one word for you-AMAZING! Every single person who tried this came up to me asking for the recipe (those who knew I cooked it, that is--others thought I had it brought in from a restaurant!) A few notes: 1. I had to omit the meat since my crowd wasn't a meat eating crowd, but I still browned the onion for about five minutes and simmered the onion with the sauce for about ten minutes in a skillet. You DEFINITELY need two jars of sauce, if you are thinking its too much--it's not. 2. I used Bertoli Tomato and Basil canned sauce. 3. I read all the reviews before cooking this and followed the recommendation to layer it a bit differently. Instead of leaving the bottom layer of ziti "un-sauced", I mixed the bottom layer of ziti with 1/3 the sauce before then layering the provolone and the sour cream. I then mixed the next layer of ziti with 1/3 of the sauce, followed by the mozerella mixed with the remaining 1/3 of sauce and the parmesan cheese. I covered it, baked it at 350 degrees for exactly thirty minutes, and VOILA! Instant masterpiece!!! I am so glad that allrecipes.com gives users like me a chance to read reviews for tips and tricks---the layering was genius! I will be bringing this to work from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Hackett

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 4,930) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States