Baked Ziti I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I made this dish recently for a small dinner party I hosted. I followed other suggestions about layering and using a bigger pan. My dinner party guests really liked it, and were going back for seconds and third helpings! However, I blundered a bit so I'm sharing my experience so others won't make the same goofs! I made it the day before, and cooked it for 15 minutes then put it in the fridge. I figured I could stick it in the oven with another dish I was making the day of the party, and finish cooking it. I didn't want to fully cook the dish the day before, then re-heat it because I thought it might dry it out. So day of the party I cooked it for another 30 minutes at 350 degrees, but it wasn't long enough! The layer of provolone never melted, which wasn't apparent until I was serving the dish and I was digging into my own portion. I don't know if anyone even noticed, but I was a little embarrassed! So, if I were to do it again, I'd probably either cook it completely the day before then reheat it, or just leave it in the oven for about 45 minutes the day of the shindig if I didn't cook it fully the day before. I'd also use a different spaghetti sauce. (For the record, I used sauce from Trader Joe's and I didn't care for it. One of my guests mentioned it seemed too acidic.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginluk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Good, but dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I only have one word for you-AMAZING! Every single person who tried this came up to me asking for the recipe (those who knew I cooked it, that is--others thought I had it brought in from a restaurant!) A few notes: 1. I had to omit the meat since my crowd wasn't a meat eating crowd, but I still browned the onion for about five minutes and simmered the onion with the sauce for about ten minutes in a skillet. You DEFINITELY need two jars of sauce, if you are thinking its too much--it's not. 2. I used Bertoli Tomato and Basil canned sauce. 3. I read all the reviews before cooking this and followed the recommendation to layer it a bit differently. Instead of leaving the bottom layer of ziti "un-sauced", I mixed the bottom layer of ziti with 1/3 the sauce before then layering the provolone and the sour cream. I then mixed the next layer of ziti with 1/3 of the sauce, followed by the mozerella mixed with the remaining 1/3 of sauce and the parmesan cheese. I covered it, baked it at 350 degrees for exactly thirty minutes, and VOILA! Instant masterpiece!!! I am so glad that allrecipes.com gives users like me a chance to read reviews for tips and tricks---the layering was genius! I will be bringing this to work from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This is a very very good recipe. The sour cream really brings it together. The only change I made was to put a bit of mozzarella on top and under the broiler for a toasted top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This was scrumptious! I made it almost exactly like the recipe, except I used ground turkey, fresh sliced mozzarella, added garlic, and layered it differently. My husband loved it and couldn't get enough! I was actually out of foil at the time so I was not able to cover it while it baked, but I just made sure to add enough sauce to the top to keep it from drying out and that worked perfectly. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Outstanding. I needed a little more time in the oven to get everything melted together, and I still didn't get the sour cream completely melted, but it didn't matter as it still tasted great. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucker, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This is awesome and simple. I added Italian seasoning, onion power and two cloves of minced garlic to the beef when I was browning it. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Of course, I covered the dish while baking, too. This is a great, hearty meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Didn't have Ziti, so I used penne pasta and it was so easy and delicious! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I also did Ricotta instead of Sour Cream, I didn't use provolone I just used Mozzarella! I layered it like Lasagne and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qtewashington

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
My husband loved this! The provolone was a great kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlyn Wise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,784) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States