Baked Ziti Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I took advice from other reviews and added garlic and basil to the pasta before putting in dish. I used whole grain penne instead of the ziti and reduced the amount. I added ground beef as others had but also added chopped spinach to the ricotta mixture. It was delicious and my family LOVED it. I too recommend using extra sauce. I warmed some and served it at the table so everyone could get the amount they wanted. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
With a few modifications, this recipe is perfect for a crowd! To combat potential blandness (as previous reviewers warned) I used an 8 oz can of spicy tomato sauce (RedPack brand) and an 8oz can of tomato sauce with garlic & onions. I also used spicy Italian sausage and through in a cup of fresh-chopped Basil. I also used whole wheat pasta (Barilla plus) to add to the health factor. In response to other reviews, I found neither the white wine to be overwhelming nor the flavor to be too "tomato-y". This got rave reviews at my extended family's Easter buffet dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerseyfresh77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This is a delicious and easy recipe, one I will be making again and again. I do have to agree with everyone who said that the recipe needs 2 jars of sauce, not one. After reading those reviews, I decided to be faithful to the recipe the first time I made it, and actually had to run out to buy another jar of sauce in the middle of cooking. I also recommend topping it with some fresh chopped basil before serving--it's a nice touch and adds some extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
yummy. tastes like lasagna. but i have to leave out the ricotta and egg since my husband doesn't like ricotta cheese. I did everything as suggested except instead of spreading ricotta, I sprinkled that 6 italian shredded cheese mix you get at the store over the ziti noodles. Thanks for a no-sour cream baked ziti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
What a hit this made! I made it for a family with a 1 1/2 year old toddler and a 5 day old baby girl, to help them out as they're hands are full. I made it in one of those tins so when they're done they can throw it away, and WOW!! I added basil to the ricotta mixture, and ground turkey sauteed in garlic, onions and pepper, very yummy! I couldn't use all of the pasta, however, maybe if I had a deeper dish, but I will make this for years to come, especially when I have a family of my own. Thanks a lot! Kristen Chandler, AZ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Made it and my wife, brother-in-law, and buddy enjoyed it! Everyone had a second helping. After reading a few of the comments I also added the following: browned 1 lb. of ground chicken chopped/sauteed 1 yellow squash, 3 green onions, 1/2 white onion, 1 orange bell pepper, 1/2 green bell pepper combined veggies and ground chicken and add to dish as an additional layer after pasta sauce after baking, broil for 3 minutes then remove and top with chopped italian parsley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This dish was okay, a little dry though. I reccomend using 2 cups of sauce where it says 1. Also, the pasta is a little bland so i would add some salt pepper basil and garlic to it before i use it for the layers in the ziti. I will probably make this again with a few adjustments like i mentioned so it wont be as dry. It's a great recipe to build off of though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I took the suggestion from one of the reviews to add extra sauce and it was delicious. I also added 1 lb hamburg and fresh basil, oregano and garlic to the sauce mixture. Its quite a large recipe, it would be great for large families and cheap too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This tasted pretty good! I added half a pound of ground beef (which I cooked with half an onion and a few teaspoons of minced garlic) to the sauce. I seasoned the beef with basil, Creole seasoning, and seasoning salt. I used 1 and 3/4 cups of tomato sauce (where it said 1 cup) and instead of ricotta cheese, I used cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I found this recipe today and made it for guests this evening as a side dish for Italian beef sandwiches. Everybody loved it! They kept telling me how great the pasta dish was! It was so easy to prepare. I am going to keep this as a permanent part of my cooking "repertoire."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States