Baked Yam and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Everyone at the table wanted this recipe. I've never seen anything like it. The onions take on the sweetness of the yams and have an almost carmelized taste - yum! I would suggest cooking it uncovered for an additional 15 min. to really cook it all the way through and melt/brown the top crust. Also, try to cut the potatos super thin while the yams are sliced thicker because the yams tend to cook to quickly while the potatos take longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This recipe was great - it's first savory sweet potato dish I've had, and I definitely like more than the candied sweet potatoes. I would recommend a few alterations though - Omit the breadcrumbs, they're not necessary. Bake for 30 min without the cheese, then add cheese, and bake for 30 min more so cheese doesnt buurn. Next time I might add some cheese between the layers of potatoes. I definitely will want to make this again with the alterations I mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
I used Monterey Jack Cheese and chicken boullion instead of Mozzerella cheese and veg boullion. -only because it was in my fridge. Excellent side dish with Turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was an excellent flavor combination. I made a few adjustments though. I used a deeper dish and did several layerings. I also used beef broth instead of vegetable and eliminated the bread crumbs and flour. I peeled the potatoes as well and added cheese in with every layer, as well as a lot of butter. My husband loved it so much that he ate three helpings and took the rest to work the following day, he even asked me to make it again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
What a great change from the usual sweet potato casserole. I used more sweet potatoes than white and also mixed chicken broth and half and half and it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I thought this was wonderful!!! I followed the recipe for the most part, but made one addition. I mixed in some heavy whipping cream with the vegetable broth and flour. I got rave reviews on this dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
This was good but I felt it needed something more. I am going to change the butter/chicken stock ratio next time to make it richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
Nice change from the usual sweet potato recipes. We enjoyed very much and would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I used only sweet potatoes and omitted the bread crumbs. Cooking time was more like 45 minutes. This was an excellent dish. So much more satisfying than the sugary sweet potato recipes I am used to! Will make this a holiday staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Super yummy! I reduced the amount of butter and cheese, and it was still good. Next time, I'm going to switch the potato layers (starting with the white & ending with the sweet) because the top layer of white potato wasn't cooked as well as the other layers and the sweet potato cooked much faster even when sliced thicker. Thanks for this "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States