Baked Yam and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I made this for Christmas dinner and increased the serving size to 12. It worked out well and was a pretty easy dish to make for a large number. I divided it into serving dishes prior to cooking and the only drawback was that total cooking time was a little over 1 1/2 hours (not the 1 hr given in the original)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I thought this was very good - and simple. I had to bake it about an hour and 15 minutes. I did use chicken broth which added a little more flavor I think as well as a mix of provolone and mozzarrella - my guests really liked it. To cut down on fat I used a light butter substitute and not quite as much as what was called for. The onions flavored it perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I decided to take a chance and make this for Thanksgiving dinner... It is a keeper for certain! This is something to put on the dinner table year round! I gave this a four star because I feel that it could use a bit more cheese, possibly some cheddar~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving, and everyone loved it (especially me!). The only thing I did differently was substituted chicken broth for veggie broth, and I left the bread crumbs off. The white potatoes didn't cook fully in 1 hour, so I had to cook for approx. 1-20 minutes. Great recipe! P.S. I doubled recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I was disappointed by the rather bland taste of this recipe. I think chedder cheese would have been better. I agree with the other reviewers that less better and breadcrumbs would be better. Maybe chicken stock instead of vegatable? More seasoning? I'm not sure, but mine was pretty boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Everyone at the table wanted this recipe. I've never seen anything like it. The onions take on the sweetness of the yams and have an almost carmelized taste - yum! I would suggest cooking it uncovered for an additional 15 min. to really cook it all the way through and melt/brown the top crust. Also, try to cut the potatos super thin while the yams are sliced thicker because the yams tend to cook to quickly while the potatos take longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I used chicken broth rather than vegetable broth. It was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Hubby and I loved this and I'll definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This was excellent at Christmas dinner with ham. I didn't change a thing and there was not a morsel left. Would make this again for any occasion. I made this again but added a ham steak with cloves between the potato layers. I put crushed pineapple on top and baked as usual. It was great with the added ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I tested this recipe last night in anticipation of using it for Thanksgiving. It is suberb!!! You really get the taste of the potatoes as they were meant to taste and not sticky sweet!!!! I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States