Baked Yam and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Oh my gosh!! These came out sooo good! Will definitely make again. I used Parmesan as that was all I had-next time I will use more of it. Savory, real tasty. Yum!! Thanks Holly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I am giving this 5 stars even though it was not a big hit at my Thanksgiving table. I really liked the texture and the fact that it was an alternative to the sweet yam casserole that is a tradition to serve. I think it tasted great, even heated up the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Really yummy. I used the tips from the other reviewers (substitued cream for half of the chicken broth), used only yams, as we had a mashed potato dish, and made it even better - I carmelized the onions first till they were golden brown and a little blackened. The flavor of the carmelized onions made it extra tasty with the baked yams. My family said we could have skipped the chees (I used mozarella), but I bet it would be even better with gruyere or similar rich cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I substituted cream for half the broth, and added one teaspoon of dried thyme leaves and 1/2 teaspoon of finely ground black pepper. I had Swiss cheese in my refrigerator so that is what I used, and sprinkled a little in amongst the potato layers. It had a nice flavor, not bland, and wasn't soupy or dilute. With the cheese added, a small portion of leftovers served as lunch the next day. The sweet potatoes also give a tang to the taste so that it is not just all starch-flavored. I liked this variation, not sticky or candy-sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Really loved this recipe. I went to my friend's house for dinner and they found out I was vegetarian so they whipped up a special meal for me including a sweet potato dish with plain potato, spinach and cheese. It was yum, so ever since I've been trying to find a similar dish to make myself. This one was great, I made a few adjustments, omitting the bread crumbs and so...also I didn't cook it in the oven so it was slow cooked in a Bessemer dish (YUM!)-the vego stock and flour didn't work out great for me so I omitted it the second time, anyway despite all the small changes, there was not once this recipe was not wholly devoured by me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Awesome! I loved the texture of this and it was very pretty sitting on the table. Lots of compliments. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
not sure what I did wrong but this wasn't very good at all. I followed the recipe exactly, which I have to admit is unusual for me, but it was so soupy we had to strain out the potatoes and the flavor was washed out. Hubby said he'd eat it "once a year---maybe".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOSETRAX75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Made this with my roast beef dinner for New Years with friends, as I had some vegetarian guests. Turned out really good. I used chicken flavoured oxo (no worries, made sure it was vegetarian-friendly and no actual meat used)in with the water/flour mix, and the guys raved about it. A definite keeper for when I need a good, easy vegetarian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Francis, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
made as directed, i think the taste of this dish is a solid 4 stars but the creative use of yams & idahos definately takes it to 5 stars! many thanks for a healthful alternative to those sweet casseroles, holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I really loved this dish. It was something different for potatoes/sweet potatoes that I hadn't thought of. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States