Baked Yam and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I am giving this 5 stars, because my husband loved it and it is difficult to get that reaction from him. I made it exactly as the recipe stated, but doubled it and it turned out great. I agree that the yams cook quicker so its best to cut them in thicker slices than the white potatoes. And I will add cheese to the middle of the casserole next time. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was okay. My family really likes Yams; but still met with so so results. I put in a smaller container and messed up my layers of Yam to potato - which may be the reason for the so so results. Next time will try to make sure the potato (white) has the cheese and may be better. This would be a good recipe for those who don't really like the flavor of Yams, but want the additional nutrition in a potato dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Pretty good, not too hard to make, and different. I think next time I will chop the onion, and use a more flavourful cheese than mozzarella. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This was excellent... even my husband loved it and he's not crazy about yams! Great way to fit more of this highly nutritious vegetable into our weekly rotation. I made just enough for the two of us in a tiny little casserole and put just a bit of grated cheddar between the layers. Will definitely make regularly from now on... thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This dish was great! I cannot cook, lol, i burn water. However I easily made this dish and my family was not very willing to try it since I made it but once I convinced them to they loved it even though normally they hate sweet potatoes. It will now be a tradition for me to make this every thanksgiving and christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Quick and easy variaation on a potato classic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Popejoy, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
We really loved this. Makes a great main dish for vegetarians as well as your meat-eating friends. Thank you for this yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAIZZY SUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was an excellent flavor combination. I made a few adjustments though. I used a deeper dish and did several layerings. I also used beef broth instead of vegetable and eliminated the bread crumbs and flour. I peeled the potatoes as well and added cheese in with every layer, as well as a lot of butter. My husband loved it so much that he ate three helpings and took the rest to work the following day, he even asked me to make it again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Came out perfect. I used shallots instead of onion and it was very tasty. Turned out to be a nice dish to serve with salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Oh my gosh!! These came out sooo good! Will definitely make again. I used Parmesan as that was all I had-next time I will use more of it. Savory, real tasty. Yum!! Thanks Holly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States