Baked Yam and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Quick and easy variaation on a potato classic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Popejoy, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
We really loved this. Makes a great main dish for vegetarians as well as your meat-eating friends. Thank you for this yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Haynes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was an excellent flavor combination. I made a few adjustments though. I used a deeper dish and did several layerings. I also used beef broth instead of vegetable and eliminated the bread crumbs and flour. I peeled the potatoes as well and added cheese in with every layer, as well as a lot of butter. My husband loved it so much that he ate three helpings and took the rest to work the following day, he even asked me to make it again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Came out perfect. I used shallots instead of onion and it was very tasty. Turned out to be a nice dish to serve with salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Oh my gosh!! These came out sooo good! Will definitely make again. I used Parmesan as that was all I had-next time I will use more of it. Savory, real tasty. Yum!! Thanks Holly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I am giving this 5 stars even though it was not a big hit at my Thanksgiving table. I really liked the texture and the fact that it was an alternative to the sweet yam casserole that is a tradition to serve. I think it tasted great, even heated up the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Really yummy. I used the tips from the other reviewers (substitued cream for half of the chicken broth), used only yams, as we had a mashed potato dish, and made it even better - I carmelized the onions first till they were golden brown and a little blackened. The flavor of the carmelized onions made it extra tasty with the baked yams. My family said we could have skipped the chees (I used mozarella), but I bet it would be even better with gruyere or similar rich cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I substituted cream for half the broth, and added one teaspoon of dried thyme leaves and 1/2 teaspoon of finely ground black pepper. I had Swiss cheese in my refrigerator so that is what I used, and sprinkled a little in amongst the potato layers. It had a nice flavor, not bland, and wasn't soupy or dilute. With the cheese added, a small portion of leftovers served as lunch the next day. The sweet potatoes also give a tang to the taste so that it is not just all starch-flavored. I liked this variation, not sticky or candy-sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Really loved this recipe. I went to my friend's house for dinner and they found out I was vegetarian so they whipped up a special meal for me including a sweet potato dish with plain potato, spinach and cheese. It was yum, so ever since I've been trying to find a similar dish to make myself. This one was great, I made a few adjustments, omitting the bread crumbs and so...also I didn't cook it in the oven so it was slow cooked in a Bessemer dish (YUM!)-the vego stock and flour didn't work out great for me so I omitted it the second time, anyway despite all the small changes, there was not once this recipe was not wholly devoured by me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Awesome! I loved the texture of this and it was very pretty sitting on the table. Lots of compliments. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States