Baked Yam Fries with Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Great!!. I sprinkled herbs on one half and pepper flakes on the other. Served with alioli. A success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
An easier method is to toss the yam or sweet potato wedges with olive oil or sesame oil along with sea salt into a zip lock bag, making sure the yams are well coated, then arrange on a cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
My husband has never been a fan of yams, but this is one that lured him in. I think a lot of that had to do with the dipping sauce (he is a condiment lover). I had to adjust a couple of things the second time around on this- first, I found that bigger wedges took a lot longer to cook and weren't as crisp on the outside as we prefer and a little too thick, not done well enough on the inside (even with an extended baking time). So I cut them a lot thinner the second time around, more like a smaller french fry would look. Those turned out much better with less cooking time. I also adjusted the mayo and sour cream the second time around because it seemed like one would overpower the other and my husband agreed the adjustment by taste was better. Overall, this is a hit in our house and requested often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This was fantastic! I also included spears of eggplant and broccoli stalks with the yam fries and everything was so good! I think I even like the eggplant more than the yams- I recommend trying this with any vegetable you have on hand. I didn't have any sour cream, so I used plain, full-fat yogurt. I also just eyeballed the spices to put in there, so I can't say how the dip in the posted recipe compares but mine turned out GREAT. I wanted to eat it by the spoonful! This recipe is so easy to make and super versatile, not to mention healthy! I rarely review recipes I use on here, but this one was so great, I had to rave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fishynumber2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Delicious!!! Dip is amazing (didn't have taco seasoning, so used old bay seafood seasoning instead - with no paprika either) The yams I left thicker chunks and cooked a bit longer, 25 mins as recipe said, then up to 400 and didn't time, but was probably another 20 mins. In fact, I think I'm going to have tonight. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Will definitely be making this dip from now on! Great with these fries and also chicken fingers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I would make this again and like that you can use more or less yams and it stays the same. I like my fries crispy though and that effect can be hard to get this way. I made sure to slice mine thin and baked at 400 but some on the edges burned. I will use an airbake pan next time I cook them. I also used a package mix of mango curry dip instead of tacco so not sure how that will taste. I think most dips would be good with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenfron
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I've never made yam fries but I bought some I really needed to us. The season salt was...okay on them. The sweetness shined through so it was a nice contrast. It did take longer then 25 minutes, and even though the yams looked done, they were very soggy to pick up, so I turned the heat on the oven up to 350 degrees to help get a crisp edge on them to pull off the pan. The dip was fine but mild in flavor, so I added an additional tsp of taco seasoning and it turned out prefect. However. I tasted the yam with the dip before tweaking and I didn't really think the dip matched up with yams. Yams were good, Dip was good...just didn't seem to think they went together well. But that's my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Just used about 5 tbsp of Mayo and Half pack of Taco mix, and Paprika, Turned out amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Really good. Quick, easy and tasty. Much cheaper then buying pre made too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States