Baked Yam Fries with Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
When I saw the recipe, YAM FRIES, I got all excited, as I love yams. Because they are called "fries", I expected them to be similar in texture to french fries, but the texture of these are like mashed potatoes - very soft. Which was very disappointing. I made them a second time tonight and had the same result as the first time. After 25 minutes at 350, I put them under a broiler for 5 minutes but even that didn't help to crisp them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Cook for longer than 25 minutes to crisp up the fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
TREAT for friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I made these a few years ago, only they were sliced potatoes and I grilled them, the oven would work fine. I made a dip with sour cream and maple syrup that was incredible. Yogurt would work and light syrup would as well. I love sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was good, and very simple. My potatoes didn't get crispy, but they were fine anyway, and I liked the combination of the potatoes and dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Yams don't crisp--they just get limp. Tastes OK but too much trouble to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Toss the fries in the oil before baking! I made this recipe as-is twice and they all turned out shriveled and rubbery and none of the seasoning stuck to the fries. This last time I tossed the fries around in the oil on the pan so they were all coated before seasoning and cooking. Viola! Finally turned out like they should. Somehow everyone managed to leave out that this is an important step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I cooked the yams longer than specified, but they were still very good and the dipping sauce was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Fixed as written except added more taco seasoning. It really made the fries! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
delicious, easy, didn't try dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States