Baked Whole Pumpkin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made this last night and it came out amazing! I did a few things different though. I made enough for 14 servings and I replaced 2 of the 4 cups of heavy cream with eggnog. I also added some imitation rum flavoring and some vanilla extract as well. I also only used 1/4 tsp of ginger. I was having issues with it setting though. So after 1 hour 45 min @ 350 it was still liquid so I upped the temp to 400 for 30 min and then it set up perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
this was a mess the custard did not cook at all just liquid the pumpkin burnt and had to remove from oven ... the liquid was a beautiful color ... tried cooking inside on stove but to late did not work not sure i will ever try it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This is great. The kids loved it. To resolve the problem of setting the custard I cooked it on the stove for about 20 mins on low med heat before putting it in the pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
hmm... I wish this rating system was more specific, for taste it deserves a 4+ stars, presentation 5, but as far as preparation is concerned the size of the pumpkin needs to be more specific. Mine luckily just fit the amount of ingredients, but the cooking time and temp were way off. After 2 hours it wasn't even slightly done, but I took anothers suggestion and nuked it for 4 minutes to set the custard which worked, but i think this recipe needs to be tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stinabina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I took the suggestion to bake the pumpkin with the top off - this was a mistake because the pumpkin caved in partially. The custard did cook beautifully and was a nice brown. However, the pumpkin was not a pretty centerpiece. Also, my pumpkin may have been too large. I used a 12 lb pumpkin. When the custard rose it was about 1/3 of the pumpkin. I would like to try again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLA Deb
Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
This is a really fun recipe to make and eat. 350 degrees may be a little too hot, as the center of the custard wasn't quite done before the outside started to burn. The consistency is close to that of bread pudding and compliments the pumpkin flesh nicely. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This recipie was a big hit.. impressive to serve and delightful to eat. I served it here in Sweden and it was the first time most had tasted pumpkin, and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne-Marie Bullis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Håcksvik, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This took so much longer to cook that the skin of the pumpkin scorched a little. The custard tasted good but was an unappetizing gray color. Won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States