Baked Whole Pumpkin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Sounds GOOD!!! MUST TRY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
If you leave the lid off the custard will set. Placing the lid on keeps the custard from evaporating as it should. My mom has a recipe similar to this and we love it. I didnt make this recipe exactly but will be using it as a base to start from as I lost my original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I've tried this several times--the custard just won't set. The color is unappetizing. Never again! Pecan pie is much less trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamston, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
The flavor is great. The custard did not set properly. I'll try with a flatter pumpkin for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Be careful to lift the top off from the flesh, not the stem; it's easy to break it off and it's so pretty served with that stem on! Friends fought to take home the leftovers. I baked it an extra 20 minutes; leave yourself ample time! Very egg-y but we loved it as dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacherie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Gorgeous! Finished cooking in microwave as pumpkin was cooked but custard not set! It was however gorgeous, the custard did not look grey as I grated my nutmeg myself instead of using ready grinded one which may be responsible for the grey custard some had. Pumpkin started to slpit as it had to cook so much more for custard to set so I presented it with a pretty sash tied round it an no one noticed the problem. I will in future start cooking the custard in a pan and put semi-set in pumpkin. Also I recommand cooking the lid separately, upside down on the baking sheet as it seems partly responsible for custard taking so long to set. On the whole I strongly recommand this recipe, it was a hit here in France and dinners ate the whole lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La maman calîne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
It LOOKED impressive, but that's all you can say about this recipe. It took an hour longer to bake than recipe calls for and custard was an unappetizing gray. Find a better use for your pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatka, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This was very good. I actually give it 4-4.5 stars for taste, but the presentation is so nice that I had to give it 5 stars. The custard looked a just little greyish to me, and it took longer to cook than expected. I wonder if anyone has used 1/2 milk and 1/2 cream? I'll make it again, it's too pretty not to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This dish tasted a lot like flan, and the pumpkin added a real nice touch. It took a little longer to bake and set than the recipe called for. I recommend taking off the pumpkin lid, my custard didn't set until I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I was worried about the custard not solidifing but it did, was tasty and pretty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States