Baked Whole Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Before making this recipe I read most of the reviews. Here is what I did to infuse flavor into the cauliflower. I cut the cauliflower into bite-size pieces and simmered it in chicken broth until tender crisp, drained it, then tossed the cauliflower with the bread crumb topping. I transfered the whole mixture to a buttered casserole. Drizzled with some extra virgin olive oil and a sprinkling of Locatelli Romano cheese. Positively DELICIOUS, everyone LOVED it, and no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
386 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Best cauliflower ever!!! I tested this out on just the 2 of us - cooking it whole - I was skeptical on how it would be to serve. TRY IT - it is really easy and I think will definitely be a conversation piece at the table. My guy looooved it! I followed recipe exactly except I took the suggestions of other submitters and brushed the butter on the caulifower and then added the dry crumbs mixed with seasonings. It adhered easily. When it comes out of the oven - just put it on a plate and serve it with a spoon - it is so tender. P.S. I steamed mine hrs. in advance and when the roast was almost done put on the final touches and popped it in the oven. This is a KEEPER!! Thanks submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I have made this recipe twice and loved it! The first time I also had a little trouble getting the bread coating to stick to the sides. That was a little disappointing cause the presentation would be much improved with a nice, over all golden coating. The second time I made it I used a bar-b-que marinade brush and brushed melted butter over the entire head and THEN coated it. PROBLEM SOLVED! Great presentation! My husband LOVES it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I used the suggestion of another member and cut the cauliflower into pieces and then simmered it in chicken broth until tender. I then drained it, tossed it with the mixture and baked as directed. It was a HUGE hit! My husband ate all but the one serving that I ate at dinner tonight! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
The secret to having cauliflower with flavor is steaming/simmering it in chicken broth. Then put it in the oven with the breadcrumb mixture. Yummmmmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This is the most delicious recipe I've ever tried. I took the advice of one of the reviewers, and cut the head into large pieces. I "steamed" it in the microwave. It was hard to get the mixture to stick, so on my second try (the head was big enough to make two "cookings")I melted the butter and drizzled it over the cauliflower. Then I mixed the remaining ingredients together & sprinkled them over before baking.This worked well and came out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: La Vernia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Loved this! I cut up & micro steamed the cauliflower (in a pampered chef micro steamer) which took minutes then baked it....YUM! I will next time drizzle the butter and then the bread crumbs as others have suggested, but the taste of the end result is ohh so yummy! Thanks Ariela!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Hooray...I have found a new way to prepare cauliflower. My hubby and I love veggies, and cauliflower is at the top of our list. Steaming and stir-frying were getting old, but this is my favorite new way to prepare it. I absolutely love this. Can't say much for the kids. I don't think my four year old would even touch this if I drowned it in chocolate, but he's like that with everything. I too cut mine into florets and poured the butter over and sprinkled on the rest. I'm looking forward to making this one again. Thanks so much Ariela.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
Although the cauliflower took a long time to steam, we really enjoyed this dish. Even the veggie-haters at our table were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennie
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was beautiful and delicious. I chose to prepare this whole and it made a beautiful presentation (check out the photo I submitted). This is what I did to make it turn out really beautiful and coated all over: Steamed as directed in recipe. Then I mixed all the dry ingredients(no butter) in a large cereal bowl. I sprayed the steamed cauliflower head with cooking spray then placed it upside down in the cereal bowl mixture. I used a spoon to press the mixture around the rest of the head. I placed it back right side up on a pie pan and gave it another spray all over to help it get crispy then cooked as directed. Delicious and a little healthier from omitting the butter :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sriracha Whole Roasted Cauliflower

Here's a new way to roast cauliflower.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Loaded Cauliflower

Mashed and baked cauliflower with sour cream and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States