Baked Whole Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Superb! I cut the cauliflower into pieces, cooked it (until a little soft) in salt water, coated with olive oil and then with seasoned bread crumbs. I baked it for over 30 mins so it came out crispy. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
We like cauliflower here, but this was so yummy! I used olive oil instead of butter a combination of the seasoned bread crumbs & some Panko & a bit more seasoning, as we are into spicy food here. I sprinkled shredded sharp cheddar cheese over the top after I had mixed everything else together & it was in the baking dish. I did pre steam the florets in the micro in a steaming bag, as that cuts down dthe cooking time. A great dish thati will definetely be making again. Thanks, Ariela for a new recipe & I will be sharing it w/the neighbor who grew the cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Thought this was good. I cut the cauliflower in half and placed in a 9x9 glass baking dish with a couple tsp of water. Put saran wrap over and microwaved for about 5 minutes (until tender). Meanwhile I mixed up the bread crumbs. I used unseasoned crumbs and added extra garlic powder, salt, pepper, thyme, oregano, dill, and kept the same amount of red pepper flakes. Followed the directions for everything else (prep wise). Turned out great and very flavorful. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Love this recipe and have made it twice. First time, I followed the recipe and it tasted good but something just wasn't right (the margarine/breadcrumbs were clumpy and wouldn't stick to the cauliflower). Took people's suggestions on breaking it apart after steaming, tossing in a freezer bag with olive oil and then adding the breadcrumb mixture after and it was so much better. I added additional spices to the breadcrumb mixture to give it more taste. My picky eater husband loves it and asked me to write down exactly what I did so I can make it "exactly the same" next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Didn't care for this much..it was just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula West

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Excellent. I had unexpected guests and made a quick meal. This was the vegetable. Everyone raved. Super easy also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I was underwhelmed; however everyone else ate and enjoyed (or my "I hate cauliflower" folk tolerated, lol); I will certainly make again - it's a nice change on a typically unexciting veggie. I want to play around with it a bit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
eh, i was expecting something better. from all the good reviews, idk what i was expecting really but it wasn't that great. kind'a flavorless for me. i mean, i like cauliflower and i eat it steamed all the time, but this made me feel like it should taste like something well seasoned yet it wasn't there. i only did half a head and i'm glad of it. perhaps if i would have used the other's tips and steamed it in broth(which i've never done, should have tried it here though) it would have had that extra kick of flavor i needed. i even added extra cheese on top to give it more flavor. still, it wasn't even close. i rather have it plain. still, 3 stars 'cause i liked the idea of putting a sort of topping/crust on steamed veggies. i just need something more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malonb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I made a few changes, and really liked this recipe. I did steam the cauliflower whole for 20 minutes, as it was quite large. Afterward, once it had cooled down a little I broke it into pieces and discarded the core. I put the florets in a large bowl and mixed in enough olive oil to coat the pieces, about 1 Tb oregano, 1/4 tsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, also adding about 1 Tb dried onion flakes; it really needed more spices! I added the breadcrumbs and cheese and spread it out in a baking dish, covering the top with shredded mozzarella. I baked it at 375 for probably 20 minutes until the cheese started to brown. So I took out the butter, but added more cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Holy moly! This is fabulous. I grew up on fried cauliflower and the taste is so similar! I steamed whole for 20 minutes and then brushed with butter...sprinkled on the bread crumbs and baked as stated. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERSEYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sriracha Whole Roasted Cauliflower

Here's a new way to roast cauliflower.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Loaded Cauliflower

Mashed and baked cauliflower with sour cream and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States