Baked Whole Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Easy and a hit with everyone in my family! I make it for every holiday and I am looking forward to having it again today on Easter Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This turned out better than I had expected. I followed the recipe exactly just leaving out the red pepper flakes, because I do not care for them. I ended up having the cauliflower in the water for 30 minutes though, to get it tender all the way through. If I made it again I would more likely make my own seasoned bread crumbs, because the store bought ones are just really salty to me. I would also probably use a lite or whipped butter for personal reasons. After the cauliflower was baked, I realized that it had to be served out of the pan because it got a little messy when cut into. Much of the bread crumbs fall into the pan when it is cut. I would even suggest using half the bread crumbs as most of them do fall off. I did like the concept of cooking the whole cauliflower at one time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Pretty good! I used my rice steamer to steam the cauliflower. Love the bread crumbs. Used Progresso Italilan bread crumbs and omitted the oregano. Will fix again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I never cooked cauliflower before but this was a definite hit at my "Dinner with the Neighbors" night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarsnaps

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I was a little disappointed in this. I read the prior reviews, and followed the frequent suggestion of brushing melted butter onto the cauliflower and then dredging it through the crumb mixture, rather than just mixing the butter in with the crumbs. However, even having done that, the crumbs didn't stick well. Maybe a light eggwash would help? Also, I steamed my cauliflower an extra 10 minutes and baked it an extra 5, but it was still a little tough. I might try this again, cutting it up instead of serving it whole -- but that does seem to defeat the purpose a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Jenkins McFadden

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
My husband liked this, but overall I thought eating raw cauliflower would have had more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
So I made this tonight for dinner and I have to say it was delicious. I think it could have been better if I didn't add extra breadcrumbs and extra everything. I was starving while I was preparing and of course thought, "gee, if 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs is good, then 1 whole cup will be better. WRONG! I had two other sides and I really should have followed the directions exactly and kept it more of a dusting. Don't get me wrong, it was delicious, but also too much. The taste of the cauliflower was lost because of it. I'll definitely make this again, only this time I'll try not to be so over the top with all the ingredients. Oh, I also steamed pieces as opposed to the whole head. Had to use just water with some salt, because I didn't have chicken stock. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amalia1961

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
YUM! Great for when you're just a little bored with plain ol cauliflower. My 5 year old asked for another helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Great healthly recipe. The cauliflower is a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I overcooked the cauliflower when I steamed them and had to wait for oven space. I did not have sesame oil. The end result was mushy but nice tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Truffled Cauliflower Gratin

See how to make cauliflower gratin with truffle pecorino.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States