Baked Whole Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
That was SO good. Gavin 05
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I followed dcbrush's prep recommendations and this turned out so good. It's the only way my son will eat cauliflower. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I did rate this recipe five stars based on revisions, so if you are looking for a review of the recipe as is, skip this review. To be honest, I come on here to find recipes because I want to make something that tastes good, and if enough reviewers write that a recipe is too bland, spicy, not cooked right, etc. I'm not going to waste my previous time and resources to make a recipe "as is" just to have the opportunity to review it in it's original form - I'm here to make the best dish possible. That said, I followed the first reviewer's advice to cut up and precook the cauliflower in chicken broth, followed by baking at 375 in a buttered pan with Parmesan cheese, garlic powder, and olive oil. Since the cauliflower was as cooked as I needed it on the stove top, I really only left it in the oven for 2-3 minutes to melt the cheese and help the flavors set. This was definitely delicious and a keeper! Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirrely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I really like cauliflower and my husband hates it. So I thought, given the high reviews here, I give this recipe a shot. I took some advice and simmered the cut-up cauliflower in chicken broth. It was really yummy, and probably should've just stopped right there. But I went ahead with the breading and baking. It tasted like cauliflower with breadcrumbs. I was not wow-ed by this and my husband definitely did not like this either. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Easy and a hit with everyone in my family! I make it for every holiday and I am looking forward to having it again today on Easter Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This turned out better than I had expected. I followed the recipe exactly just leaving out the red pepper flakes, because I do not care for them. I ended up having the cauliflower in the water for 30 minutes though, to get it tender all the way through. If I made it again I would more likely make my own seasoned bread crumbs, because the store bought ones are just really salty to me. I would also probably use a lite or whipped butter for personal reasons. After the cauliflower was baked, I realized that it had to be served out of the pan because it got a little messy when cut into. Much of the bread crumbs fall into the pan when it is cut. I would even suggest using half the bread crumbs as most of them do fall off. I did like the concept of cooking the whole cauliflower at one time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Pretty good! I used my rice steamer to steam the cauliflower. Love the bread crumbs. Used Progresso Italilan bread crumbs and omitted the oregano. Will fix again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I never cooked cauliflower before but this was a definite hit at my "Dinner with the Neighbors" night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarsnaps

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I was a little disappointed in this. I read the prior reviews, and followed the frequent suggestion of brushing melted butter onto the cauliflower and then dredging it through the crumb mixture, rather than just mixing the butter in with the crumbs. However, even having done that, the crumbs didn't stick well. Maybe a light eggwash would help? Also, I steamed my cauliflower an extra 10 minutes and baked it an extra 5, but it was still a little tough. I might try this again, cutting it up instead of serving it whole -- but that does seem to defeat the purpose a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Jenkins McFadden

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
My husband liked this, but overall I thought eating raw cauliflower would have had more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sriracha Whole Roasted Cauliflower

Here's a new way to roast cauliflower.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Loaded Cauliflower

Mashed and baked cauliflower with sour cream and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States