Baked Whole Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Sometimes I get a little crazy with modifications, so I decided I'd listen to the "experts" and try this ALMOST as written. I steamed the whole cauli with chicken broth for a bit longer than called for, and baked it a bit longer than called for. The crumb mixture, altho tasty by itself, didn't stick; the cauli was way undercooked and very dry. Even when I continued baking it until it had a nice texture, it was still almost flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonafari

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this! I did have to make a few adjustments to fit my needs (I didn't have a steamer or store bought bread crumbs). First I broke the head into smaller pieces and sauteed them in chicken broth as was suggested by another user. In the meantime, I toasted two slices of bread and then broke them into little pieces and sprinkled Italian Seasoning onto them. I mixed the remaining spices with the bread crumbs and then combined this with the drained cauliflower. I then poured it all into a casserole dish and then drizzled the melted butter over it and covered it all with Parmesan cheese. The more cheese the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
excellent would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GailandDan
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
That was SO good. Gavin 05
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I followed dcbrush's prep recommendations and this turned out so good. It's the only way my son will eat cauliflower. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I did rate this recipe five stars based on revisions, so if you are looking for a review of the recipe as is, skip this review. To be honest, I come on here to find recipes because I want to make something that tastes good, and if enough reviewers write that a recipe is too bland, spicy, not cooked right, etc. I'm not going to waste my previous time and resources to make a recipe "as is" just to have the opportunity to review it in it's original form - I'm here to make the best dish possible. That said, I followed the first reviewer's advice to cut up and precook the cauliflower in chicken broth, followed by baking at 375 in a buttered pan with Parmesan cheese, garlic powder, and olive oil. Since the cauliflower was as cooked as I needed it on the stove top, I really only left it in the oven for 2-3 minutes to melt the cheese and help the flavors set. This was definitely delicious and a keeper! Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirrely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I really like cauliflower and my husband hates it. So I thought, given the high reviews here, I give this recipe a shot. I took some advice and simmered the cut-up cauliflower in chicken broth. It was really yummy, and probably should've just stopped right there. But I went ahead with the breading and baking. It tasted like cauliflower with breadcrumbs. I was not wow-ed by this and my husband definitely did not like this either. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Easy and a hit with everyone in my family! I make it for every holiday and I am looking forward to having it again today on Easter Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This turned out better than I had expected. I followed the recipe exactly just leaving out the red pepper flakes, because I do not care for them. I ended up having the cauliflower in the water for 30 minutes though, to get it tender all the way through. If I made it again I would more likely make my own seasoned bread crumbs, because the store bought ones are just really salty to me. I would also probably use a lite or whipped butter for personal reasons. After the cauliflower was baked, I realized that it had to be served out of the pan because it got a little messy when cut into. Much of the bread crumbs fall into the pan when it is cut. I would even suggest using half the bread crumbs as most of them do fall off. I did like the concept of cooking the whole cauliflower at one time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Pretty good! I used my rice steamer to steam the cauliflower. Love the bread crumbs. Used Progresso Italilan bread crumbs and omitted the oregano. Will fix again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States