Baked White Bean and Rosemary Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This dip was RIDICULOUSLY popular at a recent dinner party, and even the less adventurous eaters just devoured it. I found it didn't get bubbly as the recipe stated, but the cooking time still made it nice and toasty. I served with sliced pitas and it went FAST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I did not care for this recipe at all! The rosemary was so overpowering, it really cleared my sinuses. I would never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
First I should note that I used pinto beans (substituted as the recipe suggested) as I couldn't find Great Northern beans at the supermarket. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. I found the dip to smell too strongly of vinegar, and taste strongly of rosemary. It was also dry and never became bubbly. It wasn't inedible, it just wasn't really good, either. I won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This was fairly good. I sprinkled some cheddar cheese in the middle of the bean mix before baking. There was quite a bit left over, so I've been eating it as a pita sandwich. I almost like it better that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
LOVED this, and it was a huge hit at a cocktail party I attended over the weekend. I didn't bother baking it....just let it suffice as a spread, and it turned out great. I also added a bit more rosemary to it. Will definitely make it again! I served it with a second dip (Braunschweiger party spread), and the combination complimented each other very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
this one was a hit at my last BBQ, no one had any idea that it was a bean dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
I also hate beans but I know they are very good for you, so I decided to make this recipe based on another bean-hating reviewer's positive comments. I was afraid of this turning out too "bean-y," so I used all the ingredients except only one can of the beans (a lower-sodium brand from Whole Foods). And I used fresh instead of dried rosemary. I put the mixture in a pie plate and then into the oven and crumbled two pieces of bacon on top. I baked it for 20 minutes (it didn't bubble) but it was great as a dip with whole wheat pita bread pieces. I would definitely make this for a party or even eat it for dinner again. Bean haters, give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Too bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
easy and delicious with great flavor and texture. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
You have to really like rosemary to love this spread. I thought it was good but a little too rosemary-y. Next time I will use half the rosemary and some other herb or spice, not sure what yet. Mine never did bubble either and got a little dry, could use some moisture or creaminess. Maybe I'll try adding a little cream cheese next time. Tasted good with Frank's Hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States