Baked Vegetables II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I thought 5 onions sounded like a lot, so I only used 1, but the dish didn't have enough flavor in my opinion so maybe you do need that many onions. I think it needs salt and other seasoning as well. I thought the recipe was OK. I used a package of frozen veggies that had alot of the same veggies that the recipe called for, so that made it pretty easy. I will probably make again, but play with more seasonings to bring out more flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I used 2 tablespoons of lite mayo instead of butter and it was still tasty and we did not miss the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Ease of preparation was key here. I had some leftover rotini pasta as a bottom layer with fresh broccoli, thinly sliced carrot, and sliced zucchini and yellow squash. Also added 1 can of diced tomatoes with Basil & Oregano. Topped with some breadcrumbs and cheddar jack/ sharp cheddar mix. Added sauted onions and garlic. Omitted nuts. Can't wait to dig in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Excellent!! Put in any veggies on hand and it was a winner. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
My family liked this. Instead of wax beans I used red pepper and instead of lima beans I used black beans. I also used veggie shreds instead of cheese. I only used 1/2 cup of raw cashews. After 45 mins it hadn't cooked yet so I added some butter pats and covered in foil. I think because I didn't use cheese it was a little dry. I cooked nicely after that and tasted good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Took to a casual dinner & loved by all. I used 2 onions sauteed until soft & brown w/ 6 garlic cloves added near end. Tossed that w/ florets from 1 small cauliflower head and 1 bunch broccoli, along w/ half cup parmesan and half cup chopped almonds. Put it in sprayed dish & topped w/ half cup (or more) strong cheese (I used istara, which is like gruyere). Baked it uncovered until got browned & covered w/ foil at end so veggies could cook further. Yummy & much less fat than the posted version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
First I have to say that I didn't follow this recipe exactly. I used fresh broccoli, cauliflower and carrots. I didn't add walnuts because I had none on hand and I didn't have 5 onions (which sounded like too much).The main reason why I rated this recipe a 4-star is because this is a tasty and different way to eat veggies. Try it at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This is wonderful! I use half the walnuts and cheese (mozzerella cheese the first time and cheddar and monerey jack the next. My husband said that it was "Perfect,don't change a thing" both times! I served it to my best friend and her husband the second time. She is a vegetarian and excellent cook. She asked for the recipe. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
very nice but again what alot of fat and did you know that some baked vegs have more sugar in than carbonated drinks so whatch your kiddies teeth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
Good recipe. I have used broccoli, carrots, yellow and red pepper, zucchini and instead of walnuts, pistacchios or cashews. The nut flavour is a really nice touch. Not the world's most exciting vegetable bake, but really reliable and good. Nice that it is so flexible with ingredients. It's very good with the addition of goat's cheese melted within.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States