Baked Tuna 'Crab' Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I normally won't review a recipe unless I follow it to a T, but since this one hadn't been rated, I thought I would let others know it is really good. I was a little dubious, myself, and only chose this recipe because I could make it work with what I had on hand. My changes were modest: I didn't have any green onions, garlic, jalapenos, or sour cream so I substituted with regular onions, garlic powder, bottled hot sauce, and plain yogurt. I didn't have enough cornmeal, so I wound up using a cornmeal/flour mix. I liked these a lot and think they would be even better if I hadn't made so many substitutions. I didn't make a sauce, but next time I will. I'll probably try the cilantro-lime mayonnaise from the crab and noodle cakes with cilantro lime dressing on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I LOVE these tuna cakes!! We have made them at least 5 times and every time they come out perfect. I didn't have cornmeal so I used seasoned bread crumbs, added more garlic & used frozen shredded zucchini from the summer crop. When using frozen zucchini I used 2 cups - it thaws & juices seep out reducing down to 1 C. Don't let the jalapenos scare you off. My kids didn't know they were in there and asked for thirds. The recipe makes enough for us to eat two meals & great for leftovers. I'm going to try and sub out salmon next time for the tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
A mighty, mighty thank ye for this a here recipe! Yummmmmmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Wonderful recipe! Cheap and it makes a ton of yummy food. The spicy pepper gives these tuna cakes a subtle kick. I didn't use sour cream and the dish still turned out great. I baked them a little longer because I like crispy things, nice and soft in the inside though. Enjoy with with hot sauce on the top! We're excited to eat the left-overs. :) Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by applegrace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Pretty good... I chose this recipe because it wasn't fried and is low in fat. I thought they were really good and tasted a little like crab cakes. They were good with cocktail sauce. I also added Old Bay and a little cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is perfect as written and is my favorite recipe by far for anything tuna. SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This might actually be a 5 star recipe but I did not have several of the ingredients on hand. The tuna cakes turned out to be very delicous even though I didn't include the green onions, jalapeno peppers, cottage cheese, sour cream, lime juice or cornmeal. I did add about 3 tsps of lemonade and 1 shredded carrot. I was worried that they would turn out dry because of the missing ingredients but that wasn't the case at all! I had to bake them slightly longer, added about 10 mins to the bake time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Schooley Jensen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was the first thing I've ever made that my husband refused to eat. They were really dry and not appetizing at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
use more bread crumb and add parmasean. more olive oil, possibly brown in a pan before baking because outside of cakes tend to dry out. FIND A GOOD SAUCE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Yummy, my hubby couldn't get enough! Used saltines instead of breadcrumbs, shake-n-bake/corn meal mix for crust, and fat free yogurt instead of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States