Baked Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
The first time I made these, they came out a bit too brown. But my second time around, they were perfect! I did bake them @ 350 for 7MINS, then flip them so they can bake evenly, and baked them for 6MINS. Maybe it's my oven, but 8MINS makes them too brown & too crispy. I used 15 yellow corn tortillas for 2 people. As another reviewer, I brushed olive oil or veggie oil on each whole tortilla & sprinkled the spices over each....THEN I cut them into triangles. It was much easier this way. Good recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaQueTeGusta
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I used whole wheat tortillas and mixed the seasoning with the oil and juice and brushed on the mixture. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stuffsalush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
skipped the spices and used a pastry brush instead of the bottle and they tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I used flour tortillas, but I would imagine corn tortillas would be better since when you buy tortilla chips they're made from corn :) Using the flour kind they come out a little dry, so plan on using them for nachos or something similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
These are fantastic, especially since chips are getting so expensive. To prevent burnt spots, I reduced the temperature to 325F, and watched them. I also used garlic powder, and onion powder with salt instead of the chili and cumin. Using a mister, I was able to get more tortillas sprayed than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Very good. I dont have a defuser so i put all of it in a ziplock bag, shack and bake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Very good, I did have to bake them for longer than it said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
These went great with my home made tortilla soup. I cooked them on a stoneware baking sheet and they came out great! Just keep an eye on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larose825

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Troutville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I found that these needed WAY longer than 8 minutes per side in order to get crispy. Even after and extra 10 minutes some of them were slightly chewy. Next time I'll bump the oven temp up to try to cut down on the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Easy and yummy! Fun to make your own chips. I used extra virgin olive oil instead of veg oil and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States