Baked Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Beachbaby 72
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
These turned out great! I didn't have a sprayer so I used a pastry brush. Used olive oil instead and baked at suggested time turning pan. Came out great. Will bake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
These turned out great. I found they cooked best for 10 minutes total. I turned the pan - not the chips at 5 mins through. I used tomato tortillas, and brushed them with olive oil - and then sprinkled them with a mixture of Clubhouse Garlic Plus, Paprika, and Parm Cheese. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Excellent! We tried dipping in oil when we didn't have a sprayer, not so good. Spraying is definitely necessary! We prefer these chips to the ones from the store, by far, and they're cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danieleWrites

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
followed recipe as written. brushed both sides, stacked, and cut into 1/8s. 7 minutes and 8 minutes just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Made these for a party and they were good. Didn't have the lime juice, but really look forward to adding that next time. Used olive oil. We don't use a lot of salt in our family, but I did feel the spice mix could have use a little more salt. I was doing a lot of tortillas and ran out of the spice, so the last couple batches had season salt, which was nice too if you are in a hurry or find yourself missing spices. Would be fun to mix it up if you wanted to make them to go with an artichoke dip - try Italian seasonings and some Parmesan cheese! Maybe some middle eastern spices for Hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I used the large flour tortillas (dinner plate size) and cut into eighths, then cut each eighth into fourths. Each large tortilla will make 32 chips. The chips are smaller and easier for little hands to pick up. I then placed chips on a baking stone (to prevent burning), sprayed each chip with some plain cooking spray (you could use butter or garlic flavor also), and sprinkled each with a little sea salt. I baked them at 7 minutes then rotated the stone 1/2 turn (or turn stone a full 180 degrees for even baking) and cooked them for another 6 minutes. I then removed the stone carefully from the oven with oven mitts or pads (it will be extremely hot to the touch) and then removed them from the stone with an upside down metal spatula (I do this to help prevent sticking to the stone) and placed them on a large cool metal baking tray to cool. They turned out fantastic. They can be eaten alone (kids love them), with dips or made into nacho chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
A baking spray (such as Pam with canola oil) works just as well as basting with the oil/lime juice mixture. I baked for 7 minutes, rotated the cookie sheet, and baked for 5 minutes more. The chips were crisp, golden brown, and delicious! My husband loves these and they are always a hit at any party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
really easy, super tasty. I have used this recipe on flavored flour tortillas and they come out great everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
We like them, I did not use oil. I sprayed them with non-stick cooking spray and then sprinkled the rest of the dry spices on, rubbed the spices around to evenly coat and then squirted them with lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Can make with just salt and cooking spray, or cinnamon and sugar with cooking spray. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbarbee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ayden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States