Baked Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I joined this site just so I could review these. I, like many others, brushed the oil mixture on to the corn tortillas. They were nice and crispy, and tasted great with salsa! Making more tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This gets a five for the idea. I found very thin corn tortillas, Perez is the brand available in my store. I cut up batches of 5 tortillas at a time into 6 triangles per tortilla. I laid them out on a baking sheet covered with foil. Then I sprayed them all with cooking spray, flipped and sprayed again. I sprinkled salt on and cooked them for 4 minutes at 400 degrees (my oven runs a bit hot). They came out wonderfully light and crisp. I've tried many times with the thicker white corn tortillas and they go from raw to burnt in no time. I'm sticking with the very thin ones for sure! Thanks for the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
We didn't have corn tortillas, so we just used our flour ones, and it still turned out pretty good. We definately overcooked them though, so be sure to be carefull about that next time. They were also really salty - I wanted to make sure they had flavor, but ended up making them too salty. We also just lightly brushed the chips with oil and lime juice and that worked out great. I'd like to try more lime juice nextime, and see if we can make them taste like "hint of lime" chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I love these!! So quick and easy to make, great taste!! Healthier choice than Chips!! Cheers for the amazing recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieBell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
SPEED/EFFICIENCY TIPS... Brush the whole uncut tortillas with oil/juice(I used only 2 Tb. lime juice to avoid sogginess. Then stack the whole brushed pile and cut into 6ths or 4ths. Spread on pan and sprinkle with seasoning. I loved the seasoning as stated, and it was also great with Cholula dry lime seasoning. BAKE on bottom rack and flip chips over after top is crisp. Surprisingly, these were better cooled; I thought they tasted similar to Doritoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful
Photo by KrazyKrista
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I thought these were great. For a fat and salt free option (as I'm on a very restrictive diet) I laid the chips in a single layer on the cookie sheet and then sprayed with fat free cooking spray, dripped with lime (the more the better for me!) and sprinkled on salt substitute and chili powder. I omitted the cumin. I baked them at 350 watching them CLOSELY. For me they only took about 10 minutes tops. I rotated after 5 minutes. They are wonderful. I can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKrista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladwin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
this recipe is simple and very flavorful...used wheat tortillas instead of corn...cook time/temp will definately vary by the oven...keep a close eye so they don't brown too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I hate to be one of the few dissenters. I WANTED to like this recipe. It sounded good and a perfect snack for dh whose cholesterol is eleveated. I tried the original version and several variations of the spice combinations, corn and flour tortillas. I (and he) would rather eat two regular chips than a plateful of these. The sugar and cinnamon recipe was alright, but really only the children will go out of their way to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Knancy
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I used flour tortillas and the chips were delicate and delicious. I wasn't sure how much of the spice the chips could take, so I went a little too light. Next time, I'll be more generous with my sprinkling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knancy
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I tried these and thought they came out a little too crispy. I used Safflower oil instead and also brished the chips with it and the lime juice. My first batch were extra extra crispy, I think I may have put too much of the oil/lime mixture on them. I tried using less on the second bacth and only used sea salt for taste and a smidge of the cumin/chili poweder mixture and liked the taste better. Next time I will try to leave them in for only 8 or 9 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States