Baked Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
just used olive oil, sea salt and cumin and excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
this was a great recipe but after 1week there were not eatable any more i would make more again but not as much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leladr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I just made a batch of these using whole grain tortillas and seasoned with plain sea salt. Once cooled, they are crisp and wonderful - just in time for my super bowl get together. I will be using this recipe from now on with both corn and flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamratoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I make chips all the time with pita bread usually. But the easiest way is to lay the tortilla out and brush with oil (I use olive) and sprinkle with coarse salt and whatever seasonings you like BEFORE cutting into wedges (I do both sides). It is much easier than doing each individual chip. For those who have trouble with them burning, your oven may run a little too hot, so just lower the temperature. I have even done them at 250 degrees, just leave them in longer to evaporate the moisture in the chips. I always test one or two to make sure they are as crispy as I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Guess it's "different strokes for different folks" concerning these chips. I made then once and my DH said: "Doritos don't have to worry about you encroaching on their territory"! I would have to agree. They may well be more healthful but there's no comparison with REAL tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Very nice! You don't have to use a mister, a marinating brush worked well (although it would be faster than the brush). Here's a cracker tip: the chips will crisp up if you let them sit in a heat-proof container above the oven vent, uncovered. Don't eat them hot right out of the oven...store bought tortillas are not thin enough for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Great! I did it exactly the way the recipe said and they turned out perfectly. The only difference - I used smaller tortillas and olive oil instead of veggie oil. I can't wait to experiment with different seasonings and oils!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabor, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Not really sure what happened to my first batch, but they got a little dark. I only baked them for 7-8 minutes one time (didn't rotate and bake again) and they turned out great. Very delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookink8e
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
These are delicious and easy. I used whole wheat tortillas. Made a stack of tortillas and cut in triangles. Put in a plastic bag and added olive oil and lime juice. Shake around and then lay in single layer on cookie sheet. Sprinkle with chili powder and seasoned salt. Make sure to brown enough to be crunchy without burning. These even stay crunchy when stored in a plastic bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made these last Christmas Eve and will make again this year! Mix all spices in a small bowl (I used extra) , add lime juice and oil ( I used 3 T olive oil). I brushed on both sides and stacked tortillas. I cut through whole stack at once into 8 wedges. Single layer and just watch really close. One minute they are not done and the next they are done!! Half way through take cookie sheet out and shake chips around. ( Chips closer to outside of tray get done faster) I used 6'' flour tortillas (my favorite). These were crisp, flavorful and lasted a few days in a ziplock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shadyside, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 151-160 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States