Baked Tortilla Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
These are a good solution to the issue of not having tortilla chips in the house and needing some chips. The problem I have is not with the recipe but with the nature of the corn tortillas...you wait and wait for them to cook and they can burn so quickly. So keep a watch on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
These are so easy and fun to do! You can use any type of tortilla. I used flour tortillas that I cut with a pizza cutter to make them uniform. I didn't have a mister so I just sprayed them with butter flavored Pam, squeezed fresh lime juice over top then sprinkled the spices and salt over them. I watched them closely during baking so they browned not burned and they went great with fresh salsa and guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
very fun and tasted so good. We prefer the flour tortilla chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
These are so versatile and so very easy. Like some other reviewers the 1st time around I brushed on the oil/lime, but I have now bought a mister, and what a change it made. Invest in one, it makes the prep so much easier and faster. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Really delicious, although I chose the lazy man's version of this recipe...cut flour tortillas into chip shapes, sprayed a cookie sheet with olive oil cooking spray, laid the chips out, sprayed the chips lightly with the cooking spray, and then dusted them with chili powder and salt (didn't have any cumin!). Mine averaged 7-10 minutes at 375 but had to keep a close eye on them. Much much better than store brand chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This is my 2nd time making these. The first time I used thinly sliced day-old bagels and got a terribly burned result, so I didn't rate it, figuring it was my fault. This time I used tortillas. I rotated at 6 minutes, and checked them again at 6 minutes. One pan looks more or less ok, a bit dark, but the other pan is definitely burnt. The cooking time is far enough off on these that the recipe NEEDS you to read the negative reviews in order to make it successfully. In my book that's not a good recipe. 2 stars, because one pan is more or less edible. (The pan that's edible is the bag of torts I was keeping in the fridge. The ones that burned were the ones being stored at room temperature.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
The only drawback was not having enough baking sheets to make a big batch all at once. They went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I enjoyed the way they came out. The one problem I had was all the flavor was on the top of the chip. What I did to help alleviate that minor problem for me was as I brushed the oil/juice mixture on each tortilla (I gotta get a mister), I stacked them on top of the last. I also use a cleaver to cut the entire stack of tortillas. It helped solve that problem for me. Another thing I'm going to do is put my seasoning mix in a resealable bowl, and after I spray the tortilla wedges, put them in the bowl with the spices and shake (after covering of course), to season them. My kids love these, my mom loves them, and its pretty simple to make. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
These are wonderful. So easy to make and even impressed by 14 year old who will not normally eat chips! I used flour tortillas, cut them with a pizza wheel, sprayed with Pam and squeezed a little lime juice all over before adding the spices. Thank you for sharing, will certainly be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States