Baked Tomatoes Oregano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I prepared these exactly as written, right down to the fresh bread crumbs. I did, however, ignore the baking time, as 20 minutes at 400 degrees is WAY too long! I baked these for 10 minutes at 350 degrees, then hit them with the broiler for a couple of minutes. Simply beautiful, delicious, fresh tasting, and a colorful addition to the dinner plate! You just can't go wrong with good, simple, fresh ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This is really good! But it definitly does not taste like pizza. If you like tomatoes this is definitly worth trying. I didn't make the recipe exactly as stated. I sprinkled on parmesan,then garlic salt/pepper,then sprinkled on dry Italian bread crumbs, sprayed with tops lighly with cooking spray (olive oil) then sprinkled on oregano. My husband loved them and ate almost the entire pan by himself. I plan on passing this recipe out to friends and family soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Awesome! Just as the submitter states these do tastes just like pizza without the crust! After I cut the tomatoes I sprinkled them with a bit of kosher salt then started layering the rest of the ingredients. I didn't have fresh bread crumbs so I used italian style. I have to admit I just eyeballed everything. I also used parmesan cheese. On a couple of them I used some light mozzarella to really take them over the top! This dish is great as an appetizer or a side. Thank for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I suggest cutting the tomatoes thicker than stated. I mixed Italian style bread crumbs, garlic and the oregano and topped the tomatoes then sprinkled on some shredded parmesan, salt and pepper, and drizzled with olive oil. I only baked for 15 minutes then set the oven to broil for just a couple of minutes to toast the tops a little. Very tasty and a nice change for a vegetable side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I think the cooking time on these needs to be adjusted. We cooked them as stated and they were mushy and too soft. If I make these again I will reduce the oven temp and cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Two words: dee licious!!! I made this for Thanksgiving for color and variety. My only change was to use way more than a clove of garlic. We're garlic lovers here, so I pressed a lot of cloves of garlic and sprinkled it on. It was also very easy to assemble in the morning and I popped it in the oven after the turkey came out. I doubled the recipe and overlapped the slices in a casserole dish, so it came out looking very pretty as well. Thanks, Michele, for a perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
I used Parmesan instead of Romano. I used store bought Italian bread crumbs instead of home made and I sprinkled the top with mozzerella. It was great! This recipe will be used again and again. I wish I'd found it at the beginning of the summer instead of the end. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
WOW I really liked this one. Hubby took the kids bowling (well except the baby) so I scaled it down & made it for me, and it was even better than I thought it would be. I used roma tomatoes (2) & layered it in a remekin (tomato, cheese, parsley, garlic, crumb etc.) until it was full & baked it in my toaster oven (for the sake of ease). Very good light dish, can't wait to have it with homegrown tomatoes and some crumbled feta cheese! Thanks Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
I arranged the tomatoes in a flat oven proof serving dish in an overlapping fashion. I used about a 1/2 cup of parmesan and mozzerella and baked it approximately 15 minutes. Then waited until just before serving to add the cheese and let it bubble and slightly brown. A great make ahead dish for a party.....beautiful and very good tasting, especially with vine ripened home grown tomatoes from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
This was pretty good and I loved that it was healthy. I might add a little more cheese to it next time, but that is because I love romano cheese. I think it's a great side dish to make for dinner. I added Progresso's garlic and herb bread crumbs and that made it taste yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States