Baked Tomatoes Oregano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This is really good! But it definitly does not taste like pizza. If you like tomatoes this is definitly worth trying. I didn't make the recipe exactly as stated. I sprinkled on parmesan,then garlic salt/pepper,then sprinkled on dry Italian bread crumbs, sprayed with tops lighly with cooking spray (olive oil) then sprinkled on oregano. My husband loved them and ate almost the entire pan by himself. I plan on passing this recipe out to friends and family soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
Great recipe! I used fresh basil instead of oregano, and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
This was tremendous. I didn't even bother to measure the ingredients, but just poured them indiscriminately over the tomatoes. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
When this finished cooking I was worried that the tomatoes would be have a bizarre and mushy texture. However, this recipe turned out fabulous and was a very unique and pretty side dish. I garnished with fresh oregano for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Excellent Side With Baked Pork Chops!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Deer Park, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
I used Parmesan instead of Romano. I used store bought Italian bread crumbs instead of home made and I sprinkled the top with mozzerella. It was great! This recipe will be used again and again. I wish I'd found it at the beginning of the summer instead of the end. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Fabulous and so versitile! Herbs and spices can be added and adjusted to suit the individuals tastes. I've been looking for new side dishes that my kids will eat and this sure fit the bill! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
WOW I really liked this one. Hubby took the kids bowling (well except the baby) so I scaled it down & made it for me, and it was even better than I thought it would be. I used roma tomatoes (2) & layered it in a remekin (tomato, cheese, parsley, garlic, crumb etc.) until it was full & baked it in my toaster oven (for the sake of ease). Very good light dish, can't wait to have it with homegrown tomatoes and some crumbled feta cheese! Thanks Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
These looked delicious, but tasted a bit bland. I would try them again, adding more oomph next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
I arranged the tomatoes in a flat oven proof serving dish in an overlapping fashion. I used about a 1/2 cup of parmesan and mozzerella and baked it approximately 15 minutes. Then waited until just before serving to add the cheese and let it bubble and slightly brown. A great make ahead dish for a party.....beautiful and very good tasting, especially with vine ripened home grown tomatoes from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States