Baked Tomatoes Oregano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was scrumptious! I used parmesan cheese instead of romano, because romano is a bit too strong for me (I know, I'm a wimp). I topped the tomatoes with a little grated mozzarella and then I mixed the breadcrumbs, cheese, seasonings, garlic, oil and parsley all together before sprinkling it all over the tomatoes. This was a big hit, and we enjoyed it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I just made this for dinner and it was soooo good that as soon as I was done doing the dishes, I rushed to my laptop to rate it 5 stars. Since I was making it for myself, I used two tomatoes on the vine and lined them in a small baking dish. I sprinkled kosher salt right on top of the tomatoes, and then added the garlic and parsley. After that, I combined 1/4 cup of Progresso's Italian Style bread crumbs and 1/4 teaspoon of dried oregano together and used half of the mixture first. I substituted feta cheese instead of the romano and then finished the dish with the last half of the bread crumb mixture. Sprinkled a little more feta cheese, cracked fresh black pepper and drizzled the olive oil. Put it in the oven at 350 for 10 mins. It was perfect! I plan on making this again for lunch tomorrow... Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
WOW! WOW! WOW! I prepared these according to the recipe, and the turned out perfect. The only change was the cook time...mine were done in about 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffani Peoples
Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Quick and easy...mixed the ramano with a little shredded mozzarella which added a bit more dimension. I also used a little too much olive oil, so when it says a tbsp, it means a tbsp! Overall, well received and would do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Very excellent recipe with a bit of give and forgiveness. I enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was really yummy. Didn't cook it as long as it said to, and at a slightly lower temp just because I had other things in the oven at the same time that had to be lower. I just eyeballed all the ingredients, and added garlic powder instead of minced garlic. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilymarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I thought these were o.k. but my husband did not care for them...too slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Made these last night with delicious fresh orange heirloom tomatoes. They were small tomatoes, so I simply halved them and I substituted fresh chopped basil for the parsley and used fresh grated Parmesan cheese in lieu of Romano. I loved them, but my husband said that was a bit much tomato for his taste. Maybe if i had sliced them thinner it would have changed his opinion. If you're a tomato lover, you will love this recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusySpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Flavor was great! But the tomatoes very way too mushy cut into 1/4 inch slices and baked at 400 for 20 min as recipe directs. I will make them again but just cut in half as in the picture. I used panko crumbs b/c I was too lazy to make fresh but they worked well. Yummy flavor mushy texture except for nice crunch of the panko.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I prepared these exactly as written, right down to the fresh bread crumbs. I did, however, ignore the baking time, as 20 minutes at 400 degrees is WAY too long! I baked these for 10 minutes at 350 degrees, then hit them with the broiler for a couple of minutes. Simply beautiful, delicious, fresh tasting, and a colorful addition to the dinner plate! You just can't go wrong with good, simple, fresh ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States