Baked Tomatoes Oregano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was a really good side dish. I cut my medium size tomatoes into 3 slices each. I used parmesan cheese and added in the tiniest bit of mozzarella I had in my fridge. Following other reviewers advice I baked these at 350 for just over 10 minutes. I've just realised now that I forgot to drizzle olive oil on these. My non-tomato eating youngest daughter tried one and then took a second and said she would eat these again. Thankyou Michele.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I hate to be the one giving a bad review here... but I just didn't care for this at all. My bf thought this was "OK," however. I didn't expect him to BEG me to make this again, especially since he doesn't care for baked tomatoes anyways (but he WILL eat them). As other's have mentioned, these DO NOT taste like pizza at all (but I can't say I expected them to...)!!! I used my tomato slicer to make thin, even slices, abt. 1/4 in. thick. I used 1 lg. tomato (which was plenty for 2 ppl. - IMHO, 2 tomatoes would be PLENTY for 4 ppl.). I used powdered Romano cheese & Progresso Italian seasoned bread crumbs since I couldn't find fresh at the store & didn't have any stale bread on hand to make my own. I also added ~ 1 T fresh chopped basil instead of parsley (I had it on hand, so why not?) & subbed Italian seasoning for oregano b/c I didn't have any avail. I overlapped my tomato slices in a round baking dish, sprinkled with coarse salt & fresh cracked blk. pepper, spread w/ Romano, breadcrumbs, garlic, seasoning & a drizzle of EVOO, baked @ 350 degrees for 10 min., then topped w/ shredded mozzarella cheese (to taste) & broiled for another 2.5 min. We served this w/ Creamy Pesto Shrimp by Loretta Buffa (thx. for the suggestion Bayou Gator!). Even though I didn't care for either, I must admit that they paired nicely together. Maybe this will float your boat, but it just didn't ours. Thx. anyways :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
We substituted Muenster cheese. The family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Good recipe. Omitted olive oil and used store bought Italian bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
These were pretty good! I did not use the olive oil (didn't need it and it reduced the amount of calories). I tried reheating the leftover tomatoes the next day and it was not good but they were good when they came out of the oven the first time. Next time I will high broil the tomatoes for a few minutes at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Was alright, tasted ok. An ok side dish, but not all that exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I loved this but I did reduce temp to 350 and baked for less time and broiled to get the top crunchy. Served this on a bed of fresh spinach and drizzled balsamic vinegar on it. Very good and I can't wait for summer tomatoes to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
didn't like the topping. would use real grated parmesan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These were GREAT!!! Will add it to the dinner list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of 3 hungry boys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Pretty good. Can't find Romano in my town. Used Parmesan and fresh basil. Basil is Better! Also topped with Mozzerella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Rae

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Grilled Baked Potatoes

A delicious combination of baked and grilled potatoes in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States