Baked Tomatoes Oregano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was a great and delicious way to use up tomatoes! I used roma tomatoes....I cut them in half lengthwise and placed in a baking dish just big enough to fit all the halves. Then I sprinkled each half with parmesan, Italian bread crumbs, fresh chopped garlic, dried parsley, salt, pepper, and oregano. Then I topped each half with shredded mozzarella and drizzled with olive oil. I baked for about 20 or 25 minutes at 350, then placed under the broiler for another few minutes. Magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
My family LOVED it! Thanks for sharing! I didn't have bread crumbs, so I used some stove top stuffing instead. Baked it at 350 degrees for 20 mins. as suggested by others. So quick and easy! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
does NOT taste like pizza without the crust, but delicious all the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Good flavor. I used italian bread crumbs so I lessened the amount of other seasonings. Think it might help to cook at a higher temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Awesome! Just as the submitter states these do tastes just like pizza without the crust! After I cut the tomatoes I sprinkled them with a bit of kosher salt then started layering the rest of the ingredients. I didn't have fresh bread crumbs so I used italian style. I have to admit I just eyeballed everything. I also used parmesan cheese. On a couple of them I used some light mozzarella to really take them over the top! This dish is great as an appetizer or a side. Thank for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This was a nice dish. I did not have roamano cheese so used grated parm instead. I also used fresh Oregano from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
VERY GOOD!! I did cheat on this one and used panko rather than the fresh bread crumbs. I also went a little heavy on the Romano and just eyeballed the fresh parsley, probably adding more than called for. Even though my result was five star, I do think the baking time and temp are excessive. I baked mine for about 15 minutes at 350 and that was even a bit too long. Next time I would cut that to maybe 10 minutes. Also, remember that the ripeness of your tomatoes will dictate how long to cook them. The riper the tomato, the more quickly it will turn to mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Like others suggested, I baked this for less time at 350. I also used fresh oregano and a little basil. It turned out pretty good; my family enjoyed them. However, it made way too much, even with just three tomatoes, so next time I'll make half the recipe. I think it would be better with mozzarella and more herbs next time, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Very good! Made them as written and would not change a thing. Great flavor! I will be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Let me start by saying I'm NOT a great cook. This is a great recipe - quick and easy to make and it tastes great! It's now a regular for my husband and me as we both loved it! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States