Baked Tomatoes Oregano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Even though the recipe is called Baked Tomatoes Oregano, I didn't want a strong oregano flavor so I went light with the oregano. I DID want a more garlic flavor, so using garlic powder, I went heavy-handed with it. Instead of the bread crumbs, I used crushed buttery round crackers (which I'd prefer over bread crumbs anyway) to which I added a few tblsp of melted butter just to bring it together; then added the garlic powder, a bit of pepper, and also added in a Parmesan and Romano cheese combo. I had some jalapeno cheddar cheese that needed to be used, so I topped half of the slices with some pieces of it (those were very good). I followed some of the reviewer's suggestions and baked them at 350 for 11 min and then broiled for a minute. Other cheeses (such as mozzarella) would be great here, too. I can imagine these will be SO much better when the good, garden tomatoes are in season. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Yummy. Homegrown tomatoes. The leftovers weren't so great. Ten minutes. Fast & good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
We have so tomatos in our garden and this was a blessing, and easy to make. I too, used oregano an basil and more grated parmesan. We can use this recipe all year. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
It's alright! I mean you can't eat it alone! It's too much! Haha so I are it with some beef. It was good, but it's like the bread crumbs don't blend well, I mean they just kinda stay dry chillin on top of the tomato. But it was good with the beef. Went well with something else. Not alone! That's all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
My family and I really enjoyed this dish, we had it with pasta and Alfredo sauce. A definite do over. I feel this would make a great hors d' oeuvres served on some fresh baked toast points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy_richelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was AWESOME!!!! Simple and easy. I did lower the time to only 10 minutes as suggested. And yes, it did taste like pizza. Yummy!!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Made this tonight by putting the Roma tomato halves in a muffin tin sprayed with canola then topping. Easily modifiable and a tasty variant on the tomato side dish. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Soggy...enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Very yummy! Great for a side dish or an appitizer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States