Baked Tofu Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
My go-to recipe for tofu. I use very often for appetizers! Just stick tooth picks in them :) YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I too was hoping the texture would be a little different. I'll give this another try, but I'm going to stir fry the tofu first until it's crispy, then add the sauce in until it thickens. I'll also add fresh garlic and more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is one of my go-to recipes, whether I'm cooking for vegans, vegetarians or non-vegetarians. Regardless of whether or not they are usually fans of tofu, They have all uniformly loved it, and most people ask for the recipe. I omit the liquid smoke, and serve it with southern-style sides as an alternative to barbecue, or I let it cool and serve it on top of salads with mandarin oranges, walnuts and avocado. This dish is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
After reading the reviews, I omitted the liquid smoke. I used BBQ sauce as the base instead of soy sauce and used agave nectar instead of syrup. I'm not a big ketchup person so I left it out. If I could have gotten it a bit crunchy I would have given it 5 stars. Great snack and even better with stir fried veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
They came out okay but not great. I thought they would be crispy...oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I've been eating and cooking tofu for 15+ years and this recipe was a dud. The sauce was super salty with the use of tamari sauce. Like other reviewers I made extra sauce and the end result was still pretty dry. I think it would have been better to press the tofu and broil it in slices with a good commercial barbecue sauce. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
delish! make sure to press the tofu before baking and mixing to remove as much excess water as possible-also emitted the liquid smoke-REALLY unnecessary for this recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
a bit salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This has quickly become my new favorite way to make tofu--and I have a lot of great tofu recipes. I made a few small changes. I used only 3 tbsp. soy sauce (reduced-sodium tamari) and 1 tbsp. water instead of 1/4c soy sauce. And I never use sesame seeds. Oh, and I bake it at 350 degrees, not 375. I think lowering the soy sauce and baking at the lower temp. eliminate the salty/burning problem others had. Also, I marinate overnight and use light tofu-- which comes out soft right after baking but when it cools it gets really firm. I usually end up eating it cold. The flavor is just excellent--smoky barbecue goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
My carnivore hubby declared it "ok" but my 10 year old son and I ate the whole batch in a few minutes as a snack. Definitely make a double batch, because it is a little trouble, for a small quantity. I froze the tofu, then thawed and pressed it. Mine came out crispy with a chicken-y texture. Would make a good sub for grilled chicken in an asian salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States