Baked Tofu Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Not as easy as I expected. Going to have to try this again to get better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I followed the steps exactly, with the exception of adding the liquid smoke. My tofu bites didn't look as dark as the picture, and they weren't as flavorful (I guess the liquid smoke may contribute to color as well as flavor? Will try again after purchasing some liquid smoke. I planned to add them to a salad, served with Frank's Thai Chicken (a slow cooker recipe I found on allrecipes.com), but in the end, I added them to the chicken and rice on each plate, and they were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I just made these and they turned out great. This is my second time trying a tofu recipe, my first recipe was tofu parmiggiana and I did not care for that neither did my family, but after trying this recipe I am in love with tofu. I did the sauce a little differently, I couldn't find the vinegar, so i just used soy sauce, sesame oil (i couldn't find my sesame seeds either), syrup, ketchup, black pepper and garlic powder and a tbsp of hot sauce (i love spicy things) I made more sauce than the recipe calls for, after reading comments about how the sauce was baked on I decided to make some extra sauce, I marinated my tofu cubes and after placing them all on the baking pan I drizzled the extra sauce on them and baked at 375 degrees for 15 minutes, flipped them and then baked them for 15 more minutes. I used them in my salad and saved the leftovers for tomorrow. You have to try this !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
What a great idea! I have made these 2 times so far. They are the perfect snack, but also make a great appetizer! There are little things you can do to this recipe like add in some fresh ginger, but made as written, it is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by freedominwordz
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is really delicious, although a bit salty. When making the marinade, I followed the advice of some of the previous reviews, and used half the proper amount of liquid smoke. To cut the saltiness, next time I think I'll use half the amount of soy sauce. I marinated the tofu for about an hour, setting aside the leftover marinade while baking. (Oh, I doubled the amount of sauce in order to have a good amount of marinade with which to work.) After baking, I added the tofu to the remainder of the sauce and warmed it all in a saucepan on the stove until the sauce was simmering and had coated the tofu. It was super tasty - even my husband, who is not a vegetarian, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freedominwordz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
We had this sprinkled on top of a rice dish, but they were quite yummy on their own. There was no sauce to speak of. It all ended up stuck to the pan, which fortunately did clean up easily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Great dish, I omitted the soy sauce and used 1 tsp. Braggs Liquid aminos I also omitted the liquid smoke and used 1 tsp. toasted sesame seed oil the flavor was mouth watering and the taste was delicious, On a bed of brown rice topped with lemon zest OMG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was good. Didn't have vinegar some added lemon juice and omitted liquid smoke. Added some ground ginger. My family and I loved it. Would cook it longer and have more sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
These were great! I didn't have any liquid smoke, so did not add it. Next time I will add at least a teaspoon of sriracha sauce, but that's based on my own preference. I have never gotten baked tofu to turn out before but this did it. I drained my tofu overnight between 2 hand towels with a brick on top and marinated it for 3 hours. Next time I will do a larger batch and marinate it overnight for even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
My teenage daughter and I are big fans of Tofu, but even my boys and husband love this one. They even request it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States