Baked Tofu Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
a bit salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This has quickly become my new favorite way to make tofu--and I have a lot of great tofu recipes. I made a few small changes. I used only 3 tbsp. soy sauce (reduced-sodium tamari) and 1 tbsp. water instead of 1/4c soy sauce. And I never use sesame seeds. Oh, and I bake it at 350 degrees, not 375. I think lowering the soy sauce and baking at the lower temp. eliminate the salty/burning problem others had. Also, I marinate overnight and use light tofu-- which comes out soft right after baking but when it cools it gets really firm. I usually end up eating it cold. The flavor is just excellent--smoky barbecue goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
My carnivore hubby declared it "ok" but my 10 year old son and I ate the whole batch in a few minutes as a snack. Definitely make a double batch, because it is a little trouble, for a small quantity. I froze the tofu, then thawed and pressed it. Mine came out crispy with a chicken-y texture. Would make a good sub for grilled chicken in an asian salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Turned out well but a bit salty. Perhaps using low sodium and half of smoke liquid instead?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallard S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neponset, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Very good. I did not add the vinegar or liquid smoke. I added some powdered ginger. I might try freezing the tofu next time to see if I like the texture better that way. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I've made this twice. Once according to the recipe and a second time using some suggestions from other reviews and I wasn't impressed either time. My husband and I both prefer the taste of tofu when it cooks in a frying pan with a stirfry. Baking them dries it out and tastes like cubes of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Very good. I followed the suggestions of others and only added half of the liquid smoke and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This recipe has been a great way for my boyfriend to eat tofu with me without complaining! I was hesitant about it at first, because I've never used ketchup in a recipe before(I'm not a fan). But I went with it. The result was actually quite good! It's a nice addition to stirfrys. I love the technique of baking the tofu as well. I hadn't tried that before and it really allows the flavor to be absorbed into the tofu. Its the only way I cook tofu now:) For me, its a 4, but for my boyfriend its a 5 :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Delicious! The best way of cooking tofu! I followed the other reviewers, I marinated the tofu for a few hours. Thank you Vicky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States