Baked Tofu Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I am having a hard time even giving this two stars. I followed the pattern, except I reduced the amount of soy sauce by half based on everyone else's comments. It was still waaaaaay too salty! Even if it hadn't been salty, I still think it would have not been good. I will NOT make this again! I should note that I let it marinade for a few hours. Maybe if I had only marinated it for five minutes, it might have absorbed less salt. The recipe says to marinate for at least five minutes, maybe it should say for no more than five minutes? Still, I don't think I'll try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Cooking time is 15 min twice so the time in incorrect. I really enjoyed the flavors and had all ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Great recipe! Super easy. I served it with the cilantro-lime coleslaw from this site. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I was very pleasantly surprised with this one. I had never cooked with tofu before, but I know it's healthy and a good meat substitution, so I decided to give it a try. I had low expectations, as did my mom (she's always been leery of tofu) but when I made it we were both standing over the pan munching on it right out of the oven. The texture can take a little getting used to, but the flavor is great and it went together very quickly. A great way to try out a new food, and something I'll definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I pretty much doubled the sauce as suggested, pressed the tofu between two towels, weighted the sheet on top with 5# flour & 5# sugar for about an hour, marinated for at an hour or a bit more. I baked it, but it didn't get crispy - even after more than twice the recommended time. 'Thought it was a little too sweet. I only put in 1/4t liquid smoke for a double recipe. Too much of that is too much. So, eh, I'm glad I tried it; but if I want crispy tofu, I'll try stirfrying it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I was not blown away by these, and I don't see myself making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This took a lot longer for me to bake (about an hour) and it was SUPER salty. It's not bad, but definitely not good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I love them!! My husband doesn't really care for them, he says its a texture thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Richter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marion, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sarah, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Great recipe! I made this just as the recipe instructed. I am new to tofu and low-carb living - 3 months of it and down 70 lbs.! Yay! I loved this recipe, although it was a little dry. However, I added some to a serving of Shirataki rice with some steamed broccoli, a handful of sunflower seed to bump up the protein, and a spritz or two of Liquid Aminos for a delicious dinner or lunch with almost no carbs and very few calories! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeneyed_1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Russell Springs, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Made it without the liquid smoke tonight, and it was a huge hit! Everyone - from my 3 year old to my 63 year old carnivorous parents - loved it. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States