Baked Tofu Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I love this recipe. It's the only way I can eat tofu. The texture is perfect for me because it's not mushy on the inside like most tofu. I don't change anything and I find the liquid smoke is a requirement while others disagree. While it cooks, I make another batch of sauce and cook it down on the stove so it starts to thicken like a BBQ sauce. When it's done I just toss the tofu with the thickened sauce. This recipe can win over any tofu hater like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Killer, I added extra hot sauce and some cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I added it to vegetable fried rice and my hubby LOVED it! Nice texture, great caramelization. I added 1 tsp. sriracha sauce to the marinade because we love spicy. I went out and bought 2 more pkgs of tofu so we can make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Paired with rice and steamed broccoli! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
It is really good. Taking out the moisture is critical. I wrap it in a dish towel and set an iron skillet on it for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I am having a hard time even giving this two stars. I followed the pattern, except I reduced the amount of soy sauce by half based on everyone else's comments. It was still waaaaaay too salty! Even if it hadn't been salty, I still think it would have not been good. I will NOT make this again! I should note that I let it marinade for a few hours. Maybe if I had only marinated it for five minutes, it might have absorbed less salt. The recipe says to marinate for at least five minutes, maybe it should say for no more than five minutes? Still, I don't think I'll try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Cooking time is 15 min twice so the time in incorrect. I really enjoyed the flavors and had all ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I was very pleasantly surprised with this one. I had never cooked with tofu before, but I know it's healthy and a good meat substitution, so I decided to give it a try. I had low expectations, as did my mom (she's always been leery of tofu) but when I made it we were both standing over the pan munching on it right out of the oven. The texture can take a little getting used to, but the flavor is great and it went together very quickly. A great way to try out a new food, and something I'll definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I pretty much doubled the sauce as suggested, pressed the tofu between two towels, weighted the sheet on top with 5# flour & 5# sugar for about an hour, marinated for at an hour or a bit more. I baked it, but it didn't get crispy - even after more than twice the recommended time. 'Thought it was a little too sweet. I only put in 1/4t liquid smoke for a double recipe. Too much of that is too much. So, eh, I'm glad I tried it; but if I want crispy tofu, I'll try stirfrying it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I was not blown away by these, and I don't see myself making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States